The Nature of Negative Emotions

“The greatest griefs are those we cause ourselves.” ~Sophocles IMG_5725 Negativity gnaws at the spirit leaving the soul stripped and tangled. Our challenges become problems. We focus on what is wrong rather than solutions. Negativity obscures the benefits of learning and growing from overcoming obstacles. It is one thing to make this an internal choice, but quite another when we deliberately share this with the world. When pessimism spreads it is not good for anyone.

Opportunity hides in the solutions of negativity. When we rise above those low vibrations we find there are good things waiting for us.

Peace does not live in the midst of negative emotions. We have the power to live a positive life. Traveling the road of optimism leads to fulfillment. Living a contented life opens the doorway to lasting happiness.

Most of us know at least one person who thinks the world is out to get him…it seems nothing ever goes his way. Doesn’t being around those types of people weigh you down? The influence of a bad attitude can surely ruin a good mood. Try to avoid them. If you can’t, don’t allow them to suck you in.

Negative thoughts are ego based. The spirit offers affirmation you are enough just as you are. Spirit allows you to be you and to reach for your dreams. You will constantly battle with ego while you settle into the peace of spirit.

Protect yourself by allowing the negative forces to pass by.

Focus on the good things in life.

Be grateful for who you are and what you have.

Love greatly. Laugh often. Live your dreams.

“Be too large for worry; too noble for anger; too strong for fear and too content to permit the presence of trouble. Be so powerful that nothing can disturb your peace of mind.” ~The Optimist Creed

26 thoughts on “The Nature of Negative Emotions

  1. Much truth in your words here, Suzi.

    Whenever I’m going through something challenging, I usually don’t share it with others until I’ve moved through it and learned what I needed to learn. I tend to get quiet and spend a great deal of time alone; listening rather than talking about it because talking about it seems to magnify the challenge, not the solution. Also, as you said…I focus on all the things I have in my life that are good and that I’m grateful for because it keeps my spirits up and positive.

    Do I ever feel negative? Yes, of course I do. However, don’t stay there long.

    Great post! And a perfect photo for this topic!

    X

    • I do that as well, wait until I learn what I need to and then share.
      We all feel sad or angry at times. The point is we allow ourselves to feel it, acknowledge its origination and move on. It’s when one dwells on such thoughts and emotions it becomes damaging.

  2. To focus on the good things in life, I think this is good advice. I can love and laugh and live my dreams for I have a good life. However so many people on this earth are confronted daily with extreme hatred and have hardly anything to survive. This saddens me.

    • I understand as there is so much sadness in the world. I try not to dwell on it and do what I can to make it a better place. I have less than most but more than many, yet I am content and blessed.

  3. Thanks for your reply, Suzi. Your post I find very stimulating. I have for instance been thinking about the issue of sadness. I do accept that there is sadness in our lives. I find it hard however to accept that there is so much hatred in the world. Why is it that some people hate some other people so much? They may be very loving people within their group of people, but hate the other, the ‘enemy’. I am afraid I do dwell on this from time to time. Still, it does not keep me from enjoying all the good things in people and in life. :-)

  4. I love The Optimist Creed, but wonder how come I never heard of it before. So I Googled it and found this delightful poster (http://www.optimist.org/Documents/creed_poster.pdf) to save and print to have it by my side when the negativity bug surfaces! Me? I rarely get negative, thankfully. I tend to be Little Debbie Sunshine. However, at various points in life, I find myself surrounded by negative people (probably because I’m NOT!), and yes, it’s quite tiresome. Thank you, Suzi, for pointing out that we all have so much to be grateful for!

    • Thanks for the link, love it!
      I try my best to remain positive and look for the best in any given situation, and I admit sometimes it difficult when you have negative people tugging at you.

  5. Wonderful words, Suzi. I try to stay positive. If negativity sneaks in, I try not to bathe others in its toxity.

    When I share challenges . . . it’s because I need active advice or input not because I want to throw a pity party for myself.

  6. Thanks for this powerful reminder. My husband I and I enjoy laughing about a drama queen friend who is never without something to grumble about. Nobody could possibly live up to her expectations. Our laughter is our vaccine against contagion, but somethings dismal thoughts and anxiety do creep in. When that happens, I find that it helps to fully acknowledge and intensely EXPERIENCE the negative feelings to get them out of the way. This doesn’t mean camping out in them for weeks, but they breed in the dark, so denying and stuffing them away only makes things worse down the road. Shine the light. Then question and make a conscious choice to move on.

  7. Oh you had me at the Sophocles quote! Such wisdom. And peace is such a worthwhile goal – for our souls and for our physical health. I agree with you – we hold the key within ourselves to be positive. It’s just that it’s a little more work to stay there for some of us than others. I read somewhere recently that we all have different set points for happiness so we really do have different starting places, but it’s still within us to choose to be happy and grateful.

  8. The quotes and the accompanying words offered wisdom I needed to hear. It is all a choice, what we hear, what we tell ourselves and its impact. Thanks for gently nudging us in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

