Saint Mary’s Wilderness, Take Two

As long as I live, I’ll hear waterfalls and birds and winds sing. I’ll interpret the rocks, learn the language of flood, storm, and the avalanche. I’ll acquaint myself with the glaciers and wild gardens, and get as near the heart of the world as I can. - Quoted from Muir Journals (undated fragment, c. 1871) by Linnie Marsh Wolfe, Son of the Wilderness: The Life of John Muir (1945) page 144.

IMG_6590

The trail hugs and all but crumbles into the creek in some places so you have to cross the water several times. The water was much lower than when we hiked Saint Marys in 2011, just as gorgeous but thankfully, less eventful. (Click here for the version of Saint Marys, Take One) I’ve hiked many Virginia water trails, but this is the prettiest and most serene. The terrain is not like other local trails, but reminds me of the landscapes out West.

Whether walking the creek or trail, you are surrounded by the beauty of nature.

Whether walking the creek or trail, you are surrounded by the beauty of nature.

Trees cling to cliffs.

Trees cling to cliffs.

Life depends on the nooks and crannies of the rock for shelter.

Life depends on the nooks and crannies of the rock for shelter.

There are many caverns ard holes in the rocks.

There are many caverns are holes in the rocks.

Within view but off the trails are many screes (rock slides down the mountain).

Within view but off the trails are many screes (rock slides down the mountain).

There are many sets of falls along the route.

There are many sets of falls along the route.

This rock slide along with the large falls with the pool below is another swimming destination for many.

This rock slide along with the large falls with the pool below is another swimming destination for many.

This photo puts the scoop to scale.

This photo puts the scoop to scale.

IMG_6578

At this point, Wylie was dog-gone tired!

At this point, Wylie was dog-gone tired!

Indian Pipe along the trail.

Indian Pipe along the trail.

15 thoughts on “Saint Mary’s Wilderness, Take Two

  1. Gorgeous falls, Suzi. When we lived in NC, we hiked to many many waterfalls ~ each had something to offer. Your falls remind me of the falls in eastern PA ~ with stairsteps from fall to fall to fall.

    • NC is pretty, too. There are some gorgeous falls in WV as well. I suppose they are all over and just as pretty. I try to get to the ones in my vicinity…much more of Virginia left to cover!

  2. “I’ve hiked many Virginia water trails, but this is the prettiest and most serene.”

    Yes, and I can see why, Suzi. These photographs are beautiful and so perfectly capture its serenity. I can actually hear those waterfalls!

    “Life depends on the nooks and crannies of the rock for shelter.”

    Love that shot of the nest!

    Thanks for sharing your hike, my friend. ENJOYED!
    X

  3. Ooh, I’ve never seen Indian Pipe — it’s lovely. And Suzi, so are your photos. Gee, all that serenity and beauty sure makes me want to vacation in Virginia!

Leave a Reply

