What’s On Your Mind?

IMG_6653 You got something to say? Spit it out. Do you feel misunderstood? Are you afraid of what people will think? Is it too painful to bear?

Can you write the words you cannot speak? The unspoken heaviness upon our hearts can often be written as poetry, song, or fiction if not in a journal. It provides a release.

Have you ever heard a song that said exactly what was on your heart? Have you ever heard music that stirred your soul? Have you ever looked at a painting and felt you knew the artist? The power of art is the connection between the artist and the viewer.

The desire to create is a strong urge. Does it begin with love, anger, or pain? Or even confusion? I think art evokes emotion because it was created with emotion. What do you find inspires you to create? Think of a song or piece of art that has aroused a strong response from you. What is the similarity between your response and your desire to create? What is different?

Sometimes we need to speak without saying a word; we just need to let it out. We all have outlets to soothe our souls, and many of them come in forms of creating.

I’ve been writing, sewing, and creating art in one form or another since I was a child. At times I wanted to be seen or heard. Other times I disappeared within my creations. There have been times I’ve thrown my anger into written word or my love into a quilt. My confusion has reared its face upon pieces of fiber art, and wonder has worked its way into the stitches. I’ve even created just to tear it to bits.

And then there’s graffiti. How do you feel about it? Does it depend on whether you see it on a bathroom stall, bridge overpass, or alley way? Does it matter more what or how something is written? Personally, as long as the language is not offensive to the public, I think the colors and styles of script found on bridges etc. can be quite pretty. Why do people write graffiti? Is it because they want to be heard? Does it promote inner healing? Graffiti, is it art or vandalism? What say you? IMG_6656

28 thoughts on “What’s On Your Mind?

  1. “Personally, as long as the language is not offensive to the public, I think the colors and styles of script found on bridges etc. can be quite pretty.”

    I agree, Suzi. Living in city, I see graffiti a lot. And I’m forever taking photographs of it because to me it’s a raw expressionistic art.

    Back in the late 70’s and 80’s when I lived in NYC, you saw much more graffiti than you do now because the city has done a lot to clean itself up. However, it’s a bit sad in a way because it’s taken away some of that raw edginess that NYC is notorious for.

    “The power of art is the connection between the artist and the viewer.” Loved that!

    Have a super weekend, my friend!
    X

  2. I have seen some beautiful, artistic graffiti and I have seen some ugly, vile graffiti. I think whether it’s art or vandalism depends upon what and how it’s expressed. For me, creating is a perfect outlet for my emotions, whether it’s the written word or in some other form. You have a wisdom beyond your years, and it shows in each and every post.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Wow! That’s a TON of questions, Suzi.

    Most of the graffiti I’ve seen does not qualify as “street art” ~> instead of someone taking the time to express talent and creativity to the world, graffiti is hastily scribbled on walls by people who want to say something, even if they have nothing worth sharing. It’s like someone talking just to hear themselves talk.

  4. Interesting post, Suzi. I have learned to value and appreciate silence, simply listening and solitude just as much as engaging in heart felt communicating. :) Like the image you selected to accompany your words/feelings.

  5. Here in the Midwest, we tend to view graffiti as a “city thing.” Our police, I imagine, don’t much relish the idea of folks expressing themselves on public property, whether it’s inoffensive, beautiful, or artistic. Most of them get ticketed for vandalism, too. Those of us with artistic, creative tendencies (needs!) find other ways to express our emotions. I’m not saying that’s right or wrong — it just is. That said, folks still find rail cars that aren’t in use to be total magnets for graffiti!

    • I agree that most of us do find ways to express ourselves rather than graffiti. I can help but wonder what draws one to graffiti. I realize it is illegal, and I wouldn’t partake…still I find it fascinating to view.

  6. You’ve really got me thinking. There are so many sides to the question of graffiti. On one side you have the property owner or businessman who has to repaint his fence or wall. On the other, you have the desire to express oneself, to be seen and acknowledged. Even the kid who scrawls his gang affiliation may be trying to escape from a sense of invisibility and loneliness. I don’t like tagging, but I can sympathize with those feelings.

    I live in a town that is for the most part free of graffiti. We have lots of murals–the accepted form of wall art. And I do like my beautiful little town, but sometimes it’s good to go where the streets are grittier and rules are flaunted, where my imagination is free to travel in unexpected directions. The desire to create may be a strong urge, but the expectations of our culture weigh us down. When you felt like singing in the supermarket, did you? When you felt like dancing in the street, were you afraid someone might see you?

    • You touch on so many great points here. As a property owner, I would certainly be angry if someone defaced my property.
      I think graffiti stems from deepseated emotions, and its a release…sometimes vulgar and ugly and sometimes beautiful in its expression. I like the idea while Becky says her city provides a graffiti area.
      I suppose in society, most of us conform to rules and expectations such as I don’t sing in the supermarket nor do I dance in the street. Some times I wish I had the nerve to do so, but I’m not much of a singer or a dancer, lol. However, my creative urges follow along more with writing and fiber arts.
      I admit though I do enjoy on occasion coming across the gritty art and broken rules. Not only because of the free spirited beauty of it but because it makes me think. I wonder who these “artists” are and what they are saying to society in general.

  7. Personally, if it’s well done rather than simple shock value, expressing the heart of it’s maker, I love to discover it. I especially love it in unexpected places like the rear of an old brick building where the windows are falling out. There’s something about graffiti that is much like a scream in the night. As if it’s speaking for us all, the artist has captured a moment we all recognize as our own. xx

  8. The graffiti art I appreciate the most can be found on the sides of train cars. It makes waiting for a train to pass entertaining … a train movie/slideshow.
    There are places for it … unfortunately, it has a tendency to show up on things it shouldn’t and no matter how colorful/artistic it is it does not belong and is considered defacing.

    I love getting lost in a creative project … just do not seem to have the time I used to to indulge in that pleasure lately.

  9. We are all created so why shouldn’t we have the desire to create?! Human beings create beautiful works of art, music, dance, etc. It’s the one thing that sets us apart from all other species.

  10. This post reminded me of Banksy and the art that he creates on walls in cities all over the world. I suppose some can quantify his work as graffiti, while others see at as beautiful and enduring art. It is all a matter of perspective.

Leave a Reply

