Orange You Glad You Stepped Into The Wilderness?

Come on, I'll lead the way!

Come on, I’ll lead the way!

DirtMan and I just returned from vacation in the mountains. We camped out on the river three nights, hiked three wilderness trails, explored a state park, and enjoyed time with family and friends. As usual we had cameras in tow as well as Wylie. I’ll talk more about the hikes and share those pics later.

Today I just want to share a few bursts of nature’s living sunshine we encountered on the trails. While everything is lush with various shades of green and speckled with confetti of wildflowers, there is nothing as intoxicating as the rushes of orange we encounter along the trails.

IMG_1272

Jewelweed, or “touch-me-not”-As a child I used to help my aunt collect these to make an antidote for poison ivy.

Juvenile Eastern (Red-Spotted) Newt

Juvenile Eastern (Red-Spotted) Newt

A cluster of orange mushrooms

A cluster of orange mushrooms

I dropped my camera a few times along the trails. Fortunately, it did not tumble off any of the mountains, but it did suffer a few minor scratches and dings. This little gadget here, the StrapShot EV1, could have eased my journey and protected my camera. This is a hilarious video about it.

30 thoughts on “Orange You Glad You Stepped Into The Wilderness?

  1. Stunning photographs, Suzi! The one of the flower is gorgeous! And you just taught me something today because I had no idea that it’s an antidote for poison ivy.

    Glad to hear you had a great time on your vacation. I can’t wait to read about it and see more photos.

    Oh, and the video about the StapShot? Faaaaaaabulous! It reminded me of an action movie for Spiderman! And that gadget looks really cool!

    Have a super weekend!

    X

  2. So that’s where you’ve been — I missed you! Glad your absence was for something so enjoyable, though. Gee, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a newt before. Cute little thing, isn’t it??

  3. I like the newt! I’ll have to show it to my older son… orange is his favorite color. That video was funny, but being an amateur with the camera, I think I’d feel ridiculous wearing the full gear. But if wearing it would make me able to jump over people, climb up walls and run up an escalator rail, I suppose I could give it a try :)

    • I’m glad it survived, too! I really don’t look forward to paying for a super expensive camera when DirtMan decides to upgrade but the upside is I get his old camera which is eons better than mine!

  4. I swear by jewel weed. After that nasty, early round of poison ivy I had this spring, before the jewel weed was out, my neighbor who makes wonderful natural skin products (wunderbars!), made a jewel weed version for me to have next time I have such an issue.

Leave a Reply

