The Mandate Of Randomness

“Everything we care about lies somewhere in the middle, where pattern and randomness interlace.” ~James Gleick

Footprints in the past

This summer has been spirit led. I put my writing and sewing projects to the side and have focused on living.  With the time I’ve had off from work one would think I’ve focused on productivity. Instead, I’ve enjoyed relationships. I’ve spent countless times with the hubby and a glass of wine in front of the fire pit. I’ve bonded with Oldest over lunches. We’ve spent time dining and hiking with friends. I’ve taken full advantage of having the time to read. I’ve been watching a lot of movies. I even went with a friend to see “Jersey Boys” which I greatly enjoyed. However, some of the home movies such as “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas” have torn my heart to pieces. I can sometimes hardly bear the cruelty of humanity. And yet, I was reduced to tears of happiness last night watching a FaceBook video of a junkyard dog who daily walked four miles to receive a meal from a lady who tied up his bag of leftovers for him to carry off. She followed him one day to see what he did with them. He carried them to his hungry friends who included a chicken and a cat. People can learn much from animals.

What I was, am, and will be has always been the same. The waves of me change depending on time and place of deposit. I’ll bet this applies to you as well.

What I was, am, and will be has always been the same. The waves of me change depending on time and place of deposit. I’ll bet this applies to you as well.

We’ve traveled to and fro from sand and sea to rock and mountain. We’ve been called here and there and veered off on our own excursions without rhyme or reason. Yet, it’s all been exactly what I’ve needed. Often what seems random isn’t at all arbitrary. What we need/desire is known and provided in one form or another. Perhaps, unbeknownst to me I was seeking a season of peace and connection. This summer of exploration and connection has soothed my soul and restored my energy. I am thankful for these blessings as my cup continues to fill daily.

The praying mantis is my confirmation of needing a time of stillness and patience, knowing all things will occur in their own timing.

The praying mantis is my confirmation of needing a time of stillness and patience, knowing all things will occur in their own timing.

 

24 thoughts on “The Mandate Of Randomness

  1. I love your statement, ‘a season of peace and connection.’ Yes, it sounds as if you’ve accomplished your goal this summer — and while I don’t envision you doing that forever, I imagine a return visit to that “calm place” that “soothed your soul” would be in order now and again for the rest of your days. BTW, lovely story about the junkyard dog — we humans need to learn the value of compassion!

  2. ” Often what seems random isn’t at all arbitrary.”

    You are spot on about that, Suzi! And it’s so awesome to hear that you’ve been going with the flow on your time off this summer and just following your spirit. Amen!

    Sounds like you’re having a beautiful summer!

    “I even went with a friend to see “Jersey Boys” which I greatly enjoyed.” I have yet to see that movie, but I saw a trailer for it last month and it looks faaaabulous!

    Lovely post, my friend! And thank you for sharing it.

    X

    P.S. And please tell Dirtman I said, GORGEOUS photographs! WOW!

    • I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. I didn’t know any of the history behind Frankie Valli or the band, but love the music.
      I will certainly tell DirtMan.

  3. I often marvel at the quotes you find for your writings. The first one is wonderful…but the second is remarkably accurate. I’m happy you’re having a summer of restoration. Enjoy!

  4. Sometimes we focus too much on what we need to get done. I’m glad you spent your time nurturing relationships – that can be more productive than any project. Beautiful photos.. I enjoyed this journey :)

  5. I am glad that your time invested has been so rewarding. Relationships are difficult work and it is easy to find other activities with quicker rewards. I am sure guilty of it.

    Like your preying mantis shot as well. It reminds me that I have not seen any this summer. I need to spend more time looking.

Leave a Reply

