On Being Grounded

“To find the balance you want, this is what you must become. You must keep your feet grounded so firmly on the earth that it’s like you have 4 legs instead of 2. That way, you can stay in the world. But you must stop looking at the world through your head. You must look through your heart, instead. That way, you will know God.”  ― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Thoroughgood House and Great Neck Park 098

 

Have you ever watched a poised person? They conduct themselves with grace and exude confidence. They radiate a beauty that can’t be faked. They don’t play the blame game, stuck in the coulda’ woulda’ shoulda’s of the past. Nor do they focus on the when I’s (when I get a better job, when I get more money, when I lose some weight, etc…)of the future.

I used to envy those balanced people who seem to have it all. Then I realized I could be one, too. So can you. They really don’t have it all…They are appreciative of what they do have. They are in tune with life and open to the wisdom the process offers. They are at peace. They have chosen to be happy.

They surround themselves with people who love and accept them, and they love and accept others. These people practice and experience compassion and connection. They have found their place in the flow of now and generate a feeling of belonging for others. They don’t live in fear because they trust love to lead the way. For it is only in being grounded we are free to flourish.

How can we be like this? Drop the nomadic mind. Be here now. Instead of spending so much time searching for the light, be the light.

Thoroughgood House and Great Neck Park 097

19 thoughts on “On Being Grounded

  1. “They have found their place in the flow of now. . .” and “Instead of searching for the light, be the light.”
    So well said, such good advice. Would that we could all remember this – always.

  2. “They are in tune with life and open to the wisdom the process offers. They are at peace. They have chosen to be happy.”

    LOVED that, Suzi, because it’s spot on TRUE! And as Linda shared…to love what you have and not to want what you can’t have.

    Also, I love that quote you shared from Elizabeth Gilbert. In fact, I was reading some quotes from her (and her book) this morning about love.

    Beautiful photos! I love magnolias!

    Hope you had a great day, my friend…x

  3. This is beautiful, Suzi, and oh so true! Who was it who said, Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be? (Lincoln, I think, but I could be wrong). Whatever, the sentiment’s good. And I love your photos!

  4. Excellent advice. Wise and simplistic. I think it relates also to when I look at the specific talents of others and wish that I had more of this or more of that. Why do I waste time wishing and instead make the most of my talents to help others?

  5. You are so right, Suzicate. People such as you’ve described have poise. It doesn’t matter how much they have or how they came here physically, it’s a glow and an appreciation and an energy that transcends all that. And I loved, btw, the advice to “stop the nomadic mind.” Mine is often crazy that way.

Leave a Reply

