The First Step

“It is the small doubts of timid souls that accomplish their ruin. It is the narrow vision, the fear and trembling hesitation, that constitute defeat.” ~Alice Foote MacDougall

IMG_5421

The things we reach for or dream of can seem as far stretching as the ground to the heavens. However, that didn’t stop the tree did it? Think of the beauty and comfort humanity would have missed out on had the tree given up hope.  Sometimes the longest mile is simply the first step. Sometimes the only obstacle standing in our way is ourselves. And sometimes the biggest fear is that we do not deserve the things we desire.

There are times in life we lose our way. We don’t realize what we long for is within reach. Or perhaps we know it’s possible but requires risk, a change in status quo. What appears elementary  to one is a daunting task to another.  Even though our heart tells us if we attempt this one thing it will put us nearer to the peace and happiness we yearn, we hesitate. Why? Because change is hard. It’s uncomfortable. There are no guarantees the choices we make will take us where we hope to end up. However, the one sure thing is staying put doesn’t get us any closer…

…and then there are those people who make us believe the tree really will reach its destination, and even if not exactly where planned, it will flourish. I’m not talking about the people who move mountains and lead revolutions, but those who stand up for themselves.

Stretch your limbs to the heavens and know you are the only one who can hold you back.

Surround yourself with people who love you enough to accept you for who you are.

Live your beautiful life with your heart guiding the way.

Embrace change for the gifts which accompany it.

Listen to the voice within to find your peace.

Choose happiness.

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “The First Step

  1. “However, that didn’t stop the tree did it?”

    And this is why I love and respect trees so much, Suzi. They represent fortitude, hope, and strength to withstand anything, and flourish regardless.

    And you’re right….

    “There are no guarantees the choices we make will take us where we hope to end up. However, the one sure thing is staying put doesn’t get us any closer…”

    Fabulous post, my friend! And I LOVE the photo!!!!!
    X

  2. That photo is STELLAR, Suzi. And what beautiful thoughts. We do sometimes lose our way . . . uncertain about the next step we should take . . . or certain but hesitant because we aren’t sure that we WANT to take that next step.

    Life often is about dancing in the dark.

  3. The courage to step out of the boat… I’d add to surround yourself with people who accept you and are positive–it amazes me how frequent negativity can be such a motivation killer.

  4. “Surround yourself with people who love you enough to accept you for who you are.”
    I think this goes both ways. I should love people close to me enough to accept them for who they are.

  5. “Sometimes the only obstacle standing in our way is ourselves. ”
    I’m about to embark on a new project – one I’ve been babbling about for months. It’s finally going to happen. I’m terrified. What if I fail? I realize I just need to stop listening to that inner voice and follow my vision. I just need to get over myself.
    As always, I needed to read this. Thanks Suzi.

    • I wish you the best on your new project. You always rock! I can’t wait to hear all about it. (Though I’m not violent, I think we sometimes need to bop our inner critic!)

  6. “Choose happiness.” I think that’s a brilliant summary, Suzi! And it truly speaks to me, as I finish deep-editing on one novel and embark immediately on writing another.

  7. This is a timely post. I’ve been putting off doing anything with my writing for a few years now. In a way, it’s been good because I’ve improved in my writing (I think!) but I decided it’s finally time to start submitting my writing for publication. To me, it’s easier to not do anything, though :)

    • Sometimes putting things off until we’re ready is a good thing. I know putting my novel off was a good thing…I was so not equipped when I started…still have lots of work ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

