Experiencing The Ornate

It is no secret we are attracted by beauty and mesmerized by the intricate. We often give a passing look, perhaps a sigh. But what happens in that brief pause? Do you feel a connection? Experience a bit of wonder? Do you step into the picture and live it for if only a moment? What is the daydream that flashes through your head? What sensations does your body feel?

Much happens in that brief pause. Something caught your eye or stirred your heart. Fully feel the moment. Right in the present where you are. Then see where your mind  takes you…the past or the future? Find your connection  in the pause.

We know we’re supposed to live in the present. We know we can’t relive the past nor can we with absolute certainly plan the future. What we fail to do in the present is live the pause, to feel the life in the space of time.

A few years ago I tried what I called “living in the gap”. Instead of seeing a bird fly in the sky I watched his wings arc as he glided. I watched the dance of candle flames and watched tree limbs bow good morning to the sun. I found the ornate in common occurrences. I used to share these on my blog. Then I only wrote them in a journal. Eventually I only took notice, and those moments have begun to fade. I need to take the time to notice the ornate within the pause and pulse of life. I’m going to take the time to do this again…for my own benefit. I’m going to share one from the past with you:

January 16, 2012 – Candlelight

The flame flickers and twirls, blackening the jar. Fire arcs and reflects as a half moon in a thimble of melted wax. Three pointed embers of the wick smolder and dance, multiplying into five and returning to three. The flare swirls and rounds into an ocean wave that crashes on the glass bottom. The flame rises as if its escape from the jar is imminent and surrenders momentarily only to regain strength to try again. The three points of the wick lessen to two, one blue eye and one red eye which stare at me in the darkness. Blue and whitened gold suspend above the eyes forming a stocking cap. The flame bows and stands erect, pointing at me as if to say “I am here now in this moment to light your way through this cold, dark night.” The flame stretches, swells, and waves until it disappears, becoming one with the night.

30 thoughts on “Experiencing The Ornate

  1. It is true, we too often miss that pause. We get wrapped up in what we are doing, what we must do, what we should have done – and we miss the bits of beauty that surround us every moment of every day.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. What a fascinating church spire! It almost looks like a giant sand castle it’s so ornate. I’m glad you’re returning to “living in the gap.” Life is too short NOT to be fully present in the now!

  3. Beautiful post, Suzi. You made me want to rush off and light a candle just so I could watch the flickering flame.

    Being fully present adds so much VALUE to our days ~ when we see things with alert mindfulness, our world expands.

  4. Beautiful post, Suzi. You made me want to rush off and light a candle just so I could watch the flickering flame.

    Being fully present adds so much VALUE to our days ~ when we see things with alert mindfulness, our world expands.

  5. Suzi, this is one of those posts that one should read daily, as a constant reminder.

    “What we fail to do in the present is live the pause, to feel the life in the space of time.”

    How true that is! And it’s especially true when living in city, where everything is rush, rush, rush. I do try to pause and take notice to the present. And it’s funny because ever since getting camera, I’ve done that more often because I seem to notice things through the eye of the lens.

    Beautiful photograph of the church steeple!

    X

  6. Hi Suzi,
    This is a lovely post and I know exactly what you mean. It’s a practice I suppose. I find when life gets harried, I stop seeing. There’s a connection between the two. Now I too am stopping to see, watching for the moments between the stopping and the seeing, if that makes sense! ;)

    Beautiful photo and writing!

  7. I remember your ‘gap’ posts. It’s so easy to not look at details when we go about our daily lives. It takes us being mindful of our world and consciously making the effort to look closer. It’s too bad we don’t follow this without prompting or reminders :)

Leave a Reply

