The Music and Art of Nature’s Fall

It’s the time of year the wind becomes my music and the landscape my art. The crisp winds of autumn sweep me home with the fallen leaves. While nature is preparing for a long winter’s nap, I am coming to life. Yes, it’s the time I break out the hiking boots and head for the woods. Hues of scarlet, mustard, and pumpkin woo me to walk a bit farther and faster. I breathe in the breeze as it carries the fruity spice of bayberry and the resin aroma of pine and cedar. Dry, shriveled leaves rustle and twigs snap beneath the weight of my feet as the wind whistles and hisses through the forest.  Acorns and hickory nuts ping to the ground. Though the sun sparkles off the golden leaves the cool air is damp. I lose myself into nature as I give myself to God. I walk in the wonder of constant change; the change in color from evergreen to avocado to crimson to apricot to sunflower, the change in sound from chirps and chatters to swooshes and crackles, the change in temperature from the sticky hot to comfortably cool, the change from sweet flower fragrance to musky wood, and the change in myself as I let go and settle in. Yes, this is my time, my season.

Spin Cycle: Autumnal

21 thoughts on “The Music and Art of Nature’s Fall

  1. “While nature is preparing for a long winter’s nap, I am coming to life. Yes, this is my time, my season.”

    Amen! Me too, Suzi. I come to life. All I want to do is be outside within nature!

    You have so spot on captured the exquisite beauty of this season through your words and photograph!

    Happy fall, my friend…..X

  2. Beautiful exposition, Suzi:

    “I breathe in the breeze as it carries the fruity spice of bayberry and the resin aroma of pine and cedar. Dry, shriveled leaves rustle and twigs snap beneath the weight of my feet as the wind whistles and hisses through the forest. Acorns and hickory nuts ping to the ground.”

  3. Fall is when I come alive too. I live in the southeast so it does not arrive as quickly as other parts of the country- but there is definitely a pep in my step this time of year. Love it!

    You described your thoughts beautifully.

    • You’re right it does come a bit slower here. I live at the beach area of Va and it hasn’t reached us as quickly as it reaches our mountainous areas…I hope to get out to see the mountains soon.

  4. I was walking yesterday and thinking how beautiful our neighborhood looked on that warm Autumn day. Autumn is still my favorite season. I found myself looking for the fallen colored leaves along the way.

Leave a Reply

