Blessings Of Friendship

Reason Season Lifetime

People always come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.
When you figure out which it is, you know exactly what to do.

When someone is in your life for a REASON,
It is usually to meet a need you have expressed outwardly or inwardly.
They have come to assist you through a difficulty,
Or to provide you with guidance and support,
To aid you physically, emotionally, or even spiritually.

They may seem like a godsend to you, and they are.
They are there for the reason you need them to be.
Then, without any wrong doing on your part or at an inconvenient time,
This person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.

Sometimes they die. Sometimes they just walk away.
Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.
What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done.
The prayer you sent up has been answered and it is now time to move on.

When people come into your life for a SEASON,
It is because your turn has come to share, grow, or learn.
They may bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh.
They may teach you something you have never done.

They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy.
Believe it! It is real! But, only for a season.
And like Spring turns to Summer and Summer to Fall,
The season eventually ends.

LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons;
Those things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation.
Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person anyway;
And put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas in your life.

It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.
Thank you for being part of my life,
Whether you were a reason, a season or a lifetime.

Author – Unknown

Unless one stumbles upon these treasures they are likely not to know of the beautiful wildflowers blanketing the coastal regions. It reminds me of the love and energy that surround us. We might not give much thought to this until we need to tap into it.

So what exactly is the purpose of these said wildflowers? Sustenance for wildlife? Erosion control? Who knows but they sure make life more beautiful.

A friend who recently showed up in a time of need reminded me people come into our lives for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. The point is they all serve a purpose, and I really can’t say which is more important than another.

In such circumstances, I also found someone I considered a lifetimer to be seasonal or perhaps reasonal. Though saddened I’m not going to try to analyze or feel bitter. I’m thankful for the friendship in the form it came for the years it lasted…

My point is that next time something simple yet profound touches you or someone unexpected or unlikely drops in your life don’t spend so much time analyzing the why but enjoy it while it lasts. And if the wonder of it lasts a lifetime, consider yourself doubly blessed.

40 thoughts on “Blessings Of Friendship

  1. Good advice. It is so easy to turn bitter and angry over endings. It is much harder to be grateful and look at the ending as a new beginning. I am grateful for you, friend, for however long it is. :-)

    • It’s a hard acceptance when the relationship spans years…I’ve questioned my own actions as well and I realize perhaps I expect more than I should so now instead of expecting I plan on accepting. I’m sure I’ll continue to remind myself until I get it.

  2. Suzi, I adore this post because it speak such truth!

    The essay you shared by the unknown author is so profound!

    “It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.”

    Yes!

    “next time something simple yet profound touches you or someone unexpected or unlikely drops in your life don’t spend so much time analyzing the why but enjoy it while it lasts. And if the wonder of it lasts a lifetime, consider yourself doubly blessed.”

    Amen!

    Thank you for sharing this post. And thank you for being in my life, my friend!

    ((((( You )))))

    X

    P.S. beautiful photo!

  3. This helps put some things in perspective, Susan. It’s hard when a friendship ends for one reason or another. What a healthy and helpful way to look at it.

  4. A friend of mine had told me about these 3 types of friends and it has been so helpful to me. You making the juxtaposition with wildflowers is taking root in my soul in a new way. Some friends help me to stay rooted: keep me guarded against the wild storms of my life. Some friends help me to enjoy the beauty life brings. Then there are those who keep returning year after year after year.

    All are dear to me.

    I have “seasonal” friends who helped me learn some of my biggest lessons. Though we are no longer in touch, I treasure those relationships. I am not blind to the fact that relationships take time. I do not have endless time. I cannot maintain endless relationships. But I can endlessly treasure my memories and the deep garden of life I’ve cultivated.

    You are always continuing to bloom SuziCate!

  5. For me, it’s always painful to lose a friendship. It’s also nearly impossible for me not to analyze and over-think what happened (or didn’t happen.) I agree with the idea that people come into our lives for reasons, seasons or lifetimes. I don’t have any friendships that I’d say were lifetime friendships (yet) but maybe in 20 or 30 years, I can say I do.

  6. At times, we need to let go of old friends to make room for new ones.

    If I crowded all the friends I’ve ever had into one room . . . it would be impossible to move around and mingle. Even breathing would be a challenge.

    So we let go . . . and go with the flow.
    Meeting and Greeting and, when necessary, Retreating.

  7. I recently wrote about friendship on my own blog and I agree with you – sometimes there is a specific reason why someone entered your life. Sometimes (whether we like it or not) once that purpose is fulfilled, he or she may walk away. I think it is great advice to enjoy the friendship as it is happening – no need to analyze everything…

  8. I’d like to think we’d be “lifetimers” if we lived closer to each other. You have inspired me with your words more than you could possible realize. And thank you for showing up at my place regularly! :-)

  9. I agree with Carol (she said “It is difficult not to analyze, but I think you are right – sometimes we do too much analyzing and not enough appreciating.”)

    I have one friendship that seems to be a combination. It seems very “reason”, but also “lifetime”. Is that considered “season”? She has been around for a while, but seems to surface in times of “need” (or when SHE THINKS she is needed). Very odd. :-)

Leave a Reply

