On The Trail Again

My feet said a mighty welcome to my hiking boots. They have been estranged for months, since I started having problems (plantar fasciitis) with my foot and Dirt Man had back surgery.   I took them (or should I say they took me?) out onto the trails at First Landing State Park. I found this six mile hike to probably be one mile more than my foot needed for its first outing. Wylie was ecstatic to be in the great outdoors.

All our senses tingled with nature’s delights. We were greeted by moderate temps with a slight crisp breeze. The sky was mostly washed out by clouds but later colored into a cobalt cloud spritzed heaven. Spanish moss dangled from the trees and swirled with the wind. The sun eventually emerged to kiss our shoulders. Light sprayed through the tree branches, shimmered across the water, and danced along the shoreline. Leave rustled as critters scampered through the forest. Squirrels barked and birds sang while we meandered across the dunes and through the woods. The sweet aroma of berries mingled with the pungent scent of early autumn.  A hint of salt brushed across my lips as my sand sprinkled hands pushed a branch out of the way.

This was my first outing of using only manual settings on my camera. Some pictures turned out well while others were a bit pale or too bright. However, I am not savvy enough to photo shop them.

Slice of Life

Lichen covered limbs

Berry on the ground

Creek and shoreline

Youngsters in the treetop

Refreshing

The Great Expanse

In the Middle

Osprey nest

Swinging from the trees

More Marshland

Sticking up for you

46 thoughts on “On The Trail Again

  1. I had that same foot problem. I stretched my calves (upper and lower) four times a day. That was the only thing that helped.

    What a great hike! Love the views. That creepy tree branch is my favorite. You did a tremendous job in manual. It just takes practice as far as too light or dark. Whites and blacks are tricky.

  2. Suzi, you have no idea how much I enjoyed reading your words.

    “All our senses tingled with nature’s delights. We were greeted by moderate temps with a slight crisp breeze. The sky was mostly washed out by clouds but later colored into a cobalt cloud spritzed heaven. Spanish moss dangled from the trees and swirled with the wind. The sun eventually emerged to kiss our shoulders…..”

    That whole second paragraph was so beautifully written because I could SEE so accurately everything your were describing!

    Beautiful photos as well. Especially love the first one of the mushroom.

    I only use the manual setting on my camera because I still don’t know how to use the other features. Therefore, I end up having to tweak them after I upload them.

    Have a wonderful Monday, my friend…..X

  3. I haven’t seen that much Spanish moss since we visited Savannah! Glad you both were able to get out in nature again. (Or should I have said all THREE ?) Great job on the photos! I need to get brave and try that. :)

  4. Verrry nice! I need to learn more about manual settings before I use them very often. Maybe one day. Or not. I’m pretty lazy. You did a great job, and your words are – as always – perfect!

  5. Love the pictures! It’s still in the high nineties here, but I’m looking forward to getting back into the weekend hike routine. Maybe in a couple weeks. I like the ‘in the middle’ one – nice composition. I’m not an expert on custom settings (rarely use them) but these pics look awesome to me!

  6. Oh, Suzicate, I hadn’t realized you haven’t be out and about. That would be so hard to endure. The photos are great…fungus surprises and seems to continuously invent itself. Glad you are back in commission.

  7. Glad to hear that you, Wylie, and Dirt Man are venturing a bit farther afield. Beautiful shots.

    BFF has had to deal with plantar fasciitus . . . OUCH! Glad you’re on the ROAD to recovery.

  8. I’ll bet you were thrilled to get out and about again. I’ve always thought Spanish Moss was so pretty. Love the red toadstool. Very unusual, and a great shot.

  9. What lovely photos. My sister got married back in 2000 at the old First Landing Chapel. Her wedding was the last one there and the only thing left is the footprint of the building. They rebuilt a more modern one that following year….kind of sad, but we enjoy going back there when we can.

Leave a Reply

