Cape Lookout: The End Of The Earth

Photo Credit: DirtMan Images

“The sea is emotion incarnate. It loves, hates, and weeps. It defies all attempts to capture it with words and rejects all shackles. No matter what you say about it, there is always that which you can’t.” -Christopher Paolini

DirtMan and I have a thing for lighthouses and make an attempt to go to see as many as we can. While we were in Oriental on vacation we took a daytrip to Cape Lookout. We were only about an hour away from Harkers Island so we drove there and took a ferry to Cape Lookout.

The ferry ride took us about three miles offshore to reach Cape Lookout. We weren’t sure how Wylie did great on her first ferry ride. She cozied up to the other passengers and got a little love. When we took off she stretched herself between the passenger’s feet on both sides of the boat. As the boat picked up speed it lifted a bit sending Wylie sliding backwards. Poor thing, she tried to dig her feet in to catch herself to no avail. We all kind of steadied her with our feet.

Cape Lookout is part of the barrier islands that comprise the Outer Banks. It is 56 miles of seashore. One of the islands, Shackleford Banks, is the home of about 110 wild horses. This island is 9 miles long and less than a mile wide. We saw several horses as we passed, but I didn’t take my camera out because I was afraid the salt water spray would damage it. About the time we approached  rain hit us anyway. We got quite a downpour. Luckily it only lasted about twenty minutes and the weather cleared to be a beautiful sunny day.

The lighthouse is located at Cape Lookout National Seashore. DirtMan and I had to stagger our lighthouse tours so that one of us could stay with Wylie. It was one heck of a climb up. I didn’t think the stairs would ever end. I stopped a few times to catch my breath, and my legs were weak by the time I reached the top.

The view was astounding…worth absolutely every step to get there! From the top of the lighthouse you literally view the “end of the earth”.  The climb down was much easier than the climb up. However, after I reached even ground my legs started to wobble and continued for an hour or so while we hiked to the beach and strolled the shoreline.

The water was crystal clear. Water on one side of the island was cooler and choppier than the other. Many people come to the island for the day to enjoy the beach. We met a family from New York who were vacationing nearby and had ridden the ferry over for the day. They brought their dog along as well. Wylie and Garmish became instant friends. They would have loved to play more and on their own terms, but we were required to keep them leashed. Yes, an unleashed pet warrants a $150 fine.

When we left we entered the ferry from the beach rather than the dock. Wylie tried to sink herself into the sand, but DirtMan picked her up and put her on the ferry. We enjoyed a picnic at Harkers Island before heading back to Oriental.

“The ocean stirs the heart, inspires the imagination and brings eternal joy to the soul.” – Wyland

37 thoughts on “Cape Lookout: The End Of The Earth

  1. AWESOME view, Suzie….WOW!!!!

    I too love lighthouses, which is why I really do have to make a trip to Cape Cod one of these years, because every time I see a photo of that area….I SWOON!

    Beautiful photos! The first one of sky is absolutely stunning. Well done, Dirt Man!

    Love that first quote by Christopher Paolini!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend….X

  2. You’re so blessed to have such lovely scenery nearby! I imagine it looks a whole lot different, though, during hurricane season. I love the lighthouse photos!

  3. A kindred spirit – I love lighthouses too, but no longer attempt the trip up all those stairs. I don’t do well with edges, which includes stairs that can be seen through. I love your photos – some day I want to visit the Outer Banks.

  4. You know I love lighthouses too. These photos are awesome. I have always wanted to go to the Outerbanks. Now, I have a better idea of what they look like. And the lighthouse is gorgeous!

  5. I like the quote by Wyland. I just left the ocean – Myrtle Beach. I also visited the Cape May, NJ, lighthouse earlier this summer. I did okay with the stairs, but looking out at the top is a little difficult for me; I have a bit of a height problem. :) Have you been there? We take the ferry over from Lewes, DE.

    Can you believe I’m a Virginian and have never been to the Outer Banks!? Your pictures are inspiring me to make plans. I’m glad you, Dirtman, and Wylie had a wonderful time.

      • You’re quite a traveler! I plan to experience much more, too – more nature stuff – soon, I hope. :)
        Thanks for your thoughts on my last post. I understand the joy and happiness you feel from truly “living” life.

Leave a Reply

