Art: Nature in Emotion

Art not only imitates nature, but also completes its deficiencies.~Aristotle

 

The art of nature.

The nature of art.

Is it one or the other, or can it be both?

Windows are fogged from a midnight rain.

Sun rises over the trees. Birds sing.

Storm clouds threaten…they lower and linger…the sun retreats.

Thunder rolls across and through the pines.

Rain falls, sizzling on the pavement…steam rises through the trees, grey blending to clouded sky. Soil drinks the drops as quickly as they fall. When it is quenched it stores puddles for later relief. We’re all thirsty for something. It’s in our nature. The art is knowing when to reserve.

As in art, nature soothes us, stirs us, awes with beauty, and touches our souls.

Where nature ends and we begin…is there such a place?

Nature paints over its canvas, rewrites the book, and sings another song.

The creativity of nature is enough to inspire us all.

Do you have a favorite painting, sculpture, or song that uses nature as its inspiration? My favorite painting is the one above, “Starry Night” by Van Gogh, and my favorite songs are “Green River” by Creedence Clearwater Revival and “Morning has Broken” by Cat Stevens (I also like the hymn).

Spin Cycle: Art

31 thoughts on “Art: Nature in Emotion

  1. Beautiful and thought-provoking! I saw The Starry Night at MOMA a couple of years ago and it is amazing. Now I’m going to be singing Morning Is Broken all day!

    You’ll be linked by the end of the day when I get home!

  2. My very favorite painting is Renoir’s Luncheon of the Boating Party. Renoir uses the summer weather, the sunshine, the al fresco eating and the sparkle of the lake as his backdrop for friends savoring a Sunday afternoon. I always want to be in that painting when I see it.

  3. I can’t pick a favorite painting or piece of music based on nature! Guess my interests are so wide that pinning down one or two is next to impossible. You’ve chosen well, though!

  4. “Where nature ends and we begin” – love it! Do you supposed the starry skies were really spinning in Van Gogh’s head when he did the painting?

  5. You have the heart of a true “creative.” :-) And, no, we definitely don’t want to know what was going on in Van Gogh’s head! A very scary place! Brilliant…but scary.

  6. Suzi, I love this thought…..

    “The art of nature.

    The nature of art.

    Is it one or the other, or can it be both?”

    To me, I think it CAN be both because they inspire one another.

    I adore the quote you shared by Aristotle!

    Let’s see, my favorite artwork that used nature would anything oriental/Japanese because they always seem to include bits of nature in their artwork (bamboo, lotus flowers, and animals).

    Hope you’re having a great week, my friend!

    X

  7. My step-son loves that painting. I think he painted it on a T-shirt and we wore it to go see the Van Gogh / Gogan exhibit. Everybody was asking us if we got the T-shirt at the gift shop.

  8. art..as in nature whispers sweet nothings
    that are always important to someone or something
    trees sway dancing to our song
    rain coming down singing their own song
    *sigh* too many favorites..as I listen to a the thumder, watching the lightning out the window..listening to your Gree River I seem to be absorbed in your words here..
    Thank you it was a wonderful pull ….
    Take Care )0(
    ladyblue

    hopefully it shows up LOLs

  9. It showed up Bluelady. But the sound is distorted like through the driving rain or thunder of applause. thanks though.

    My fav is Morning has Broken also like Suzicate’s. We sang the hymn for my late husbands funeral. Somehow it seemed right then now not so much. :)

Leave a Reply

