Where The Wild Things Still Grow (Part One)

How does the Meadow flower its bloom unfold? Because the lovely little flower is free down to its root, and in that freedom bold. ~ William Wordsworth

Queen Anne’s Lace (top view)

Queen Anne’s Lace (view from beneath)

Goldenrod

Wild Yarrow

Honeysuckle

Purple Beebalm

Close up of Black Eyed Susan

Rose of Sharon

Mimosa

All subjects were found growing wild and free; the first eight in a field on my parent’s property and the last two (trees) along a river bank. The beauty of nature is breathtaking. I hope this brings you as much joy as it did me.

29 thoughts on “Where The Wild Things Still Grow (Part One)

  1. I love wild flower treasure hunts, too (which you probably already knew). When you have a camera with you they are great fun!

    Many of these I have found growing around my neck of the woods in Minnesota, too … no Mimosa or bee balm and your honeysuckle looks a lot different then ours does.

  2. Suzi, these are beautiful! So many interesting things Mother Nature sets on our path, if we’re open to seeing them. I’ve never been to your part of the country, so thank you for showing me what I’ve missed!

  3. ” I hope this brings you as much joy as it did me.”

    Yes, it did, Suzi. Stunning photos! Isn’t nature GRAND?

    And this is just too ironic because for the past few days, I’ve spent my afternoons outside taking photos of FLOWERS – I kid you not. And what’s REALLY ironic is that I also took a photo of a Goldenrod with a bee on it!

    Especially loved your shot of the Black Eyed Susan!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. Have a lovely weekend…..X

  4. Perfect fodder for my day, Suzicate. Many thanks! I love the little bee peeking over the petal. Still, one of my greatest joys is discovering a wild flower somewhere unexpected.

    Aren’t Wordsworth words something?!!

  5. Again I am amazed that you know the names of all of these plants. I didn’t know there was a flower named the same as the drink!

    Thanks for always educating me about nature!

  6. You have such beautiful wildlife where you are! I love the underside view of the Queen Anne’s Lace and the bee on the Black Eyed Susan. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

Leave a Reply

