Signs Of The Times, Or Not

“I remind myself that not everything is a sign, that some things simply are what they appear to be and should not be analyzed, deconstructed, or forced to bear the burden of metaphor, symbol, omen, or portent.” ~Diane Schoemperlen, Our Lady of the Lost and Found: A Novel of Mary, Faith, and Friendship

I walk out the front door to find a leaf on my doorstep. Not just any leaf, but a bright dark green leaf whose upper portion has ripped, healed, and reformed into a perfect heart. I pick it up and admire it, thinking this is a sign. Yes, God loves me.

I then walk into the yard to find a bank deposit receipt for almost $14,000.  It is from my bank but NOT my account. I think maybe God is telling me that He has good things waiting for me, too.

Since it is time to put the garbage can on the street for pick up, I decide to break up a fallen limb to place in the can. I snap off a section at a time until it is about half its original length. I am unable to break the larger end. I grab hold of the thick end with my hand and stomp my right foot about half way down. The limb snaps alright, BUT when it does it sends me reeling. I hit the ground rolling.  Seriously, my head tucks as I flip over. My shoulder and hip hit the dirt and SLOW MOTION…the trunk of the big oak glides by as my back bumps over its roots. BAM, I think God just smacked me upside the head! Is this my wakeup call telling me He is still in charge? I stand as soon as I am able to stop myself from sliding. I peek around the base of the tree hoping not to find any neighbors have witnessed my fall.  I shake the dirt off my clothes and wobble inside.

I tell myself God is not sending me signs. The leaf is just a torn leaf; nothing more, nothing less. The deposit slip is just a piece of paper someone dropped. Then I wonder if God is telling me I need to get to work on the plans He has for me. What plans? My head starts spinning again, and my body is aching.

I slip into a hot bath of Epsom salt. I thank God I only took a slight spill and didn’t break any bones.  I thank Him for the pretty leaf that made me smile…and it doesn’t take a heart shape for me to know I am loved. I even thank him that someone (even though it isn’t me) just made a hefty deposit into their bank account. And I promise no more pole (limb) dancing (stomping)!

So after all of the analyzing my conclusion is the next time a limb needs to be broken, I need to either ask for help or get the saw! Oh yeah, I can’t be trusted with power tools, so I’d better just ask for help.

A sign or not, does it really matter?

Do you wonder why things happen?

Do you ever wonder what you could have done differently?

Do you think sometimes things happen for reasons unknown to us?

Have you ever found yourself justifying every action in life?

Do you waste time analyzing instead of living?

After all the time spent looking for answers, does the situation really make any more sense than it did in the first place?

Does it matter more why things happen or that they happen?

24 thoughts on “Signs Of The Times, Or Not

  1. Wonderful post, Suzi!

    And I LOVED your last paragraph!

    “So after all of the analyzing my conclusion is the next time a limb needs to be broken, I need to either ask for help or get the saw! Oh yeah, I can’t be trusted with power tools, so I’d better just ask for help.”

    HA!

    Yes, I too sometimes overly analyze things; looking for the hidden meaning. And sometimes I drive myself CRAZY doing it.

    “After all the time spent looking for answers, does the situation really make any more sense than it did in the first place?”

    And for me, the answer is no. Usually the answer comes WAY after the situation occurs, when I finally stop analyzing it :)

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. Really enjoyed this!

    X

  2. Oh, I look for signs all right. And if I think I saw a sign, then I have to ponder the meaning of the sign, unsure if there could be a hidden deeper meaning.

    I’m glad you weren’t seriously hurt as a result of your pole dancing…er, limb stomping routine :)

    • I do it myself, so I decided to make fun of myself and tell how it really went down this time! Sometimes I do see signs that are loud and clear…other times I try to force my interpretation on it.

  3. Epsom salts are great, aren’t they? Oh, I wish I could have seen that. No, I’m pretty sure God wouldn’t smack you upside the head. He would have cradled you like a child and carried you inside. So glad nothing was broken (aside from the limb)!

  4. Your questions made me think – no I don’t question why things happen. I just think “things happen, deal with it”. Unless I have just done something incredibly stupid that caused a bad reaction, then I think “well, that was really stupid, you’re lucky you’re alive to realize it!”

      • Back again – I just took the canister of brown sugar out of the cupboard intending to make some cookies. The canister leapt out of my hands, and large and small chunks of brown sugar ran all over the kitchen and into the dining room. Is that a sign that I should never bake again? I think so.

  5. in the midst of laughing at one’s self, and being a part of this great wide universe, there are signs, and then there is silliness, and then there is life speaking to us in a myriad of ways. well done – not the limb breaking, but the telling of it!!

  6. I remember reading somewhere (FB?) when you had your limb spill. I hope you are all healed from that.

    Sometimes I feel as if I need a reason as to why something has happened, sometimes I don’t. It just depends. Since I believe that God loves me and I am blessed I usually think that something good is about to happen or that my life will improve if I take heed. But I don’t think I always need a reason. I do believe that things happen for a reason and we don’t always know why. I believe that sometimes we might learn why and sometimes we might not. But I do believe there is a plan.

    I do often wonder what I could have done differently OR more often I wonder WHAT would have happened had I done something differently.

    I am sure I have wasted time trying to justify things and analyzing situations. Sometimes it is fun to make up stories as to why something happened. Sometimes I am analytical and sometimes I am just riding the waves.

    Sometimes I feel a situation makes more sense when I “figure it out.” Sometimes I am certain that I might not have it figured out what it really is because maybe no one will really know, BUT I have reached a conclusion satisfactory to me so then I can leave it be.

    I think your last question depends. I think sometimes it is interesting how one thing leads to another. Sometimes in the beginning we might not even realize that the first situation can end up saving a life.

    There I go again with a comment almost as long as your post. You didn’t miss me did you?

Leave a Reply

