In the Still of the Rush

“The two hardest tests on the spiritual road are the patience to wait for the right moment and the courage not to be disappointed with what we encounter.” ~Paulo Coelho, Veronika Decides to Die 

We practice patience in an impatient world and seek perfection in an imperfect one as well.

We count the minutes, attempt to store our time, and plan our days all in a timeless universe.

We walk the line; bold, solid, and as unyielding as a fence. Sometimes all we see is the fence line. We neglect to see that flowers thrive where grass refuses to grow. Better yet, maybe the line should be constructed of rope; easily bent to reroute, twistable to return, and knotted for strength to hold us up when the going gets tough.

Perhaps most of our disappointments occur because we set unrealistic expectations. Why not be a little easier on ourselves? We are here to live the journey, to love and learn along the way. Choose joy; it waits for each of us.

For today, let’s not stomp our feet in impatience. Let’s not pretend to be who we are not for we all know perfection is an impossibility. Let’s not squander our time nor try to trap it in a bottle. Let us walk in this world as we are…better yet; run and dance circles around the “line”.  Peace will come.

Don’t rush; remember all things meant to be come in time, even in a timeless world.

“Clocks slay time… time is dead as long as it is being clicked off by little wheels; only when the clock stops does time come to life”. ~William Faulkner

Living in the Gap

May 16, 2012 – Rainbows in the Road

Purple and blue swirled, peaked, and gave way to orange and yellow.  Shadows loomed and formed a shining design that appeared as if it was rising to the sun. It reminded me of a kaleidoscope as the design seemed to be ever changing from each direction I looked. Yes, I realize this rainbow on the road was an oil slick, and while I don’t advocate environmental pollution this was something that caught my eye.

Living in the Gap

May 17, 2012 – Ducking the Morning

I heard the fluttering and quacking before I saw the two mallards waddling across the lawn. I chased after them with my camera. They scurried around the corner squawking all the way. As I approached the ruckus picked up so I backed off and let them enjoy the wet morning lawn.

Living in the Gap

May 18, 2012 – Messing with the Neighbors

As I approached the trashcan which is located at the side of the house with bushes secluding me from my neighbor I heard what sounded like a squirrel scuttling through the tree limbs. I was doing my usual talking to myself (stop judging me, you know you do it, too!), naming things I needed to do while I was outside. I glanced up to see the “squirrel” I heard was actually a handyman cleaning off the neighbor’s roof. What did I do? Run inside embarrassed? No way, I continued talking to myself…only louder and even answered myself. I chuckled as I went inside. I’m still waiting for the paddy wagon to pick me up….

26 thoughts on “In the Still of the Rush

  1. “What did I do? Run inside embarrassed? No way, I continued talking to myself…only louder and even answered myself. I chuckled as I went inside. I’m still waiting for the paddy wagon to pick me up….” – you gave me my morning chuckle and my thought was “you go girl!”

  2. Suzie, this post is so simpatico with the tone of my own post today.

    We’re on the same wave length I guess!

    “We practice patience in an impatient world and seek perfection in an imperfect one as well.”

    “For today, let’s not stomp our feet in impatience. Let’s not pretend to be who we are not for we all know perfection is an impossibility.”

    Amen!

    Enjoyed each and everyone of your Living in the Gaps!

    That last one was priceless. Sounds a lot like ME!

    Have a faaaabulous weekend, my friend!

    X

    P.S. loved that first quote!

  3. I really hate seeing people rush to judgement. They decide on the basis of emotion, not fact. I talk to myself all the time, but pretend i’m talking to the dogs. My neighbors know I’m nutty too. (There are also the high heels to consider.)

  4. What a beautiful fence line, and what an appropriate message for me today — am up to my ears trying to finish a project which isn’t going so well, and I’m feeling quite impatient to wrap it up! Thanks for the reminder!

    • Sometimes I tend to get work up over how much I neglect to get accomplished over the weekend, and I’m learning to just relax and enjoy the weekend and get to the other stuff when I feel like it.

  5. Great opening quote – so true for me :) I can count several times today when I became impatient (mostly with the unrealistic expecatation to get the kids out of the house to their games today.)

  6. Lovely. Yes, let’s run and dance.

    I never understood that saying about one only being crazy if one actually ANSWERED oneself while talking to oneself. I think that if you didn’t answer yourself you are being rude (to yourself)! :-)

Leave a Reply

