Stone By Stone

Wall at Fort Monroe

Like this fortress wall we are built one stone at a time. We are cemented together with care to withstand the harshest of environments.

We are built piece by piece, each asset complimenting another.

Though we might feel as if we are missing something at times, we are each a perfect puzzle. We must remember to look inside.

We are strengthened through adversity as we learn and grow from our experiences.

We are fortified with all the ammunition we need to make it in life.

We are way more intelligent than we give ourselves credit for. We must learn to trust our instincts. Yes, instinct is just as important to living as intelligence.

We are constructed with a cornerstone of integrity. When we are honest with ourselves and others we are living from the foundation of life.

When we live enthusiastically and compassionately, we are living from the inside out.

Heart and soul, stone by stone, we are built to not only withstand life but to enjoy it moment by moment.

Living in the Gap

May 9, 2012 –Umbrella Phobia

I listen to the pounding of the rain while sipping on a cup of hot tea. Two raindrops hit the picture window and create streams which merge into one tiny river. Wylie sits in the window and watches the only action in the neighborhood, the rain. I hear the scraping of trashcan wheels against asphalt. Wylie starts barking. (Wylie almost never barks, usually it’s because she is frightened.) I look out to see my neighbor, her head shrouded by a dark dome of an umbrella. She is lifting my trash can which had tipped over in the water rolling down the gutter. I remember the first time Wylie ever growled (at nine months) was followed by the same type of sharp bark…she spotted someone walking down the street with an umbrella. My girl must still be spooked by umbrellas. Really, those dark colored ones are dreary; we need to fill the world with bright colorful umbrellas on rainy days. Maybe I’ll pull out my umbrella with a rainbow of polka dots and see if that cheers her up…always cheers me up on rainy gloomy days.

Living in the Gap

May 10, 2012 -Sun glistening upon the rain

I walk out into a world lit in sunshine this morning. Raindrops glisten across the lawn as if someone has sewn them together with a shiny silver thread. Wetness soaks through the toes of my shoes cooling my feet in the dampness. In the neighbor’s yard a single slender leaf among a clump of flowers sparkles like a crystal rod among ordinary rock.

27 thoughts on “Stone By Stone

  1. I like your statement that instinct is just as important for living as is intelligence. And I really like your image of building up a life, stone by stone. I’m not sure my Sheltie has ever barked at an umbrella, though!

  2. Love the picture of the wall – perfect for your message. You’re right, we do become what the pieces of our life stack together to make. Living from the inside out is the best way to do it!

  3. Once again, Suzi, I so enjoyed your analogy!

    Great photo!

    Loved this line…..

    “We are way more intelligent than we give ourselves credit for. We must learn to trust our instincts. Yes, instinct is just as important to living as intelligence.”

    You are soooooooooo right, my friend! Instinct IS just as important to living as intelligence. In fact, I almost think it’s MORE important because that’s where we get our ‘promptings.’

    Great Living in the Gaps!

    “I walk out into a world lit in sunshine this morning. Raindrops glisten across the lawn as if someone has sewn them together with a shiny silver thread.”

    Beautiful visual!

    Have an awesome Thursday, Suzi!

    X

  4. SO many “profound” statements here, that I will just attribute it to the entire post.

    “Learn and grow from our experiences” – though I’ve heard it in other contexts, you’ve given more meaning to it here. I am writing a future post and it will fit perfectly within it – so I will “borrow it.” :)

    Yes – why don’t we use colorful umbrellas? Are we trying to stay neutral to match our clothes? :)

    Nice to have a moment of appreciation when capturing the sight of a single, slender, sparkling leaf.

  5. I like the image of living compassionately and enthusiastically. It’s a way to match our insides with our outsides. I enjoyed your metaphor.

Leave a Reply

