The Boardwalk And Beyond

My soul is full of longing
For the secret of the sea,
And the heart of the great ocean
Sends a thrilling pulse through me. ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Though we live “at the beach” we don’t live right by the ocean. When we go to the beach it is usually to the non-commercialized areas or off season. We decided to head to the beach for an impromptu photo shoot before tourist season kicks in. DirtMan wanted to fiddle with some time lapse and HDR photography. I merely wanted to feed my soul with sand and surf and do a bit of amateur photography.

We hit 31st Street at the Boardwalk. We are greeted by King Neptune who by the look on his face seemed to be asking all “and you think you’re going to date my daughter?”

This is one of the few places in Virginia palm trees thrive.

The Boardwalk is alive with shoppers, skaters, bicyclists, and walkers. Kids romp and squeal. Couples snuggle. Friends laugh over drinks at the outdoor cafes. Families enjoy quality time.

Hotels stretch as far as the eyes can see in both directions. DirtMan and I look and listen. We absorb the atmosphere and capture what we can with our cameras. We take the time to sink our feet into the wet sand and let the salt water and air seep into our veins. The ocean invigorates us to life as we watch the world in awe.

The old and young alike seek the sea for their own reasons.

I sneak in a few shots of DirtMan “doing his thing”. I take over a hundred shots of sea and sky so it is difficult narrowing it down to ten to share. It is a gorgeous evening. The temperature is in the eighties with the clouds displaying a brilliant show of color and design at dusk.

The roar of the waves and sizzle as the they crash and spread upon the shore mesmerizes and comforts. The beauty and power of nature is beyond words.

Radiance of bright orange fills the sky as the sun sets just beyond the hotels.

We leave the water’s edge long enough to take in the sunset as pink, yellow, and orange swirl and blend into a sky of blue and clouds of gray and white. The Artist’s canvas is a pure delight to our eyes and cameras!

The glow of color in the clouds illuminates the water.

If you look closely at the clouds in this picture you’ll see King Neptune’s very own shadow of clouds! Seriously, it does appear to be his silhouette.

In every curving beach, in every grain of sand there is the story of the earth. ~Rachel Carson

****In case you’re wondering where my “Living in the Gap” is this week…I will post the entire week’s worth on Friday.

40 thoughts on “The Boardwalk And Beyond

  1. Bee-yoo-tiful! There is something about the an ocean beach that is both calming and rejuvenating at the same time. We haven’t been able to make our annual trip to the coast, so I am sharing yours. Thank you!

    • You’re right, it is both calming and rejuvenating. I love both the beach and mountains….guess I’m just into nature! Glad to bring a bit of the beach to you.

  2. Glad you and Dirt Man shared with us some wonderful beach images–glad that I don’t have sand piled in my shoes either.

    We used to be able to hit some of the beaches off-season and it makes so much of a difference: peaceful and quiet versus chaotic and messy which now best describes our summer tourist season ocean trips.

    • These are just my amateur shots…his, on the other hand, are quite incredible. I wish he’d start a photo blog to share all of his nature and historical photos.
      We aren’t into crowds, so off season is perfect for us. Otherwise, we tend to visit the beach in the wildlife areas rather than the “oceanfront” areas.

  3. Faaaaaaaaabulous shots, Suzi!

    I especially loved the two sunsets. Stunning, Dirtman!

    Don’t you ya just love the first visit to the beach after the winter?

    “If you look closely at the clouds in this picture you’ll see King Neptune’s very own shadow of clouds! Seriously, it does appear to be his silhouette.”

    HA! You’re right….it absolutely does!!!

    Thanks so much for sharing your day, my friend! Enjoyed!

    Have a super Wednesday….X

  4. The photos are wonderful. My favorite is the one of Dirt Man and his tripod. That is so perfectly framed! (Plus, he’s got really good legs, doesn’t he?) Actually, he’s built like a runner. I’m so glad he is well recovered from his surgery. I love the beach but here it looks very angry most of the time.

  5. I love the views one can take in near the ocean. Serene, peaceful, captivating and transparent are some of the words that come to mind when I see your photographs.

  6. “We take the time to sink our feet into the wet sand and let the salt water and air seep into our veins. The ocean invigorates us to life as we watch the world in awe.” This is sooo beautiful — there’s something relaxing and soothing about being near the water, feeling the sand on your toes, letting the wind blow the cobwebs out of your brain. Thanks for the reminder!

  7. You’re photo shoot makes me remember this quote, : “I’m closer to God in Nature than anywhere else on earth”. So nice of you to share. We didn’t go to the beach last year but I’m looking forward to this year. Especially since you make it so desirable.

    Facebooked this. Thanks Suzicate

    • I almost used that quote because I feel that! I hope you get your beach trip this year…if you come to this beach we’ll have to get together. So kind of you to FB it; thank you!

  8. I can almost feel the warmth .. hear the waves … smell the salt in the air … oh my, I could really use a restful visit to a calm beach. Thanks for sharing your trip.

    • We didn’t have it to ourselves, but it wasn’t crowded. We picked a good day of the week and time of day! And I selected shots without crowds of people to share.

  9. I didn’t realize you lived so close to the beach. It must be a beautiful place where you live. I don’t think Dirt Man looks at all like a dirt man. And he also doesn’t look like he recently had back surgery.

  10. Excellent photographs – great to see Dirt Man in one of them! We live on a small island and, like you, tend to visit our beaches off-season. We’re so lucky to have this endless source of energy and inspiration so close at hand! :)

  11. Loved the photos. While Nova Scotia is surrounded by the sea I don’t get to the ocean very often. It’s beautiful though..Your photos make me want to go again. :)

Leave a Reply

