Corridors Of Life

(Photo Credit: DirtMan)

As we walk through the corridors of life, boards creak and shadows linger.

When we find the source of creaks and see the shadows for what they are, we find they aren’t obstacles at all. They are merely substance along the journey; things that make us stop and think before we continue. Sometimes we need to reevaluate and other times we need to appreciate the moment for what it us.

We are not promised the passageway to be clear, but we can be assured we will be lifted if we stumble.

There will always be lights to guide us and beams to hold us up. We must find it within ourselves to trust the light and build our support system.

When we listen we will find the heartbeat and footsteps we hear belong to us. The shadows are the fears we’ve cast upon our lives, and most importantly the door we see ahead is the one we’re supposed to walk through.

Shadows can not exist without a source of light, and neither can we.

Look deep. Find your source. Continue the walk.

Living in the Gap

April 24, 2012 – Laundry

The aroma of fresh meadows fills the air. I inhale deeply and take in the clean and probably a bit of lint as well. I love the smell of laundry drying. I love the warmth of the air. I feel at home. Clean Cotton. Fresh Linen. The candle and air freshener companies differ in their names. I guess “clothes dryer” is not a name to sell candles or sprays…

Living in the Gap

April 25, 2012 – Dancing Cardinals

The male Cardinal strutted about in his bright red attire. He danced to and fro in an effort to woo her. She thrust her drab feathers toward him and scooted off. He puffed his suit of feathers, making himself big and somehow his color brighter. The birds continued the flirtation until another female skirted across the driveway and perched herself upon the limb of a dead forsythia bush. Flowering bushes on each side hid her from his view but still he knew she was there…he flew over her and she trailed along. The other female who played hard to get realized she had competition and chased after them. A slight flutter of red drifted through the air and disappeared.

43 thoughts on “Corridors Of Life

  1. Stunning, and mean STUNNING post, Suzi!

    “The shadows are the fears we’ve cast upon our lives, and most importantly the door we see ahead is the one we’re supposed to walk through.

    Shadows can not exist without a source of light, and neither can we.”

    Brilliantly accurate!

    Thank you for that reminder! And, WOW, please tell Dirtman I think his photo is gorgeous!

    ” I love the smell of laundry drying…..”

    HAHAHAHAHHAHA! Meeeee too!

    Happy Wednesday, my friend…..X

    • I will tell him. We’d thought of combining his pics with my words on my other blog, but I really think he needs to start his own photo blog. He just got a new camera and I’m sure he’ll get some fantastic shots.
      Ah, the scent of freshly cleaned laundry!

  2. Strange that Dirtman’s image did not load at first. Glad I kept trying–fantastic job by that husband of yours.

    We did not have a dancing cardinal yesterday, but did have one pecking on the back glass door, demanding to be let in.

    • Will let you know when he opens his photo blog…will be lots of nature and historical photos in HDR.
      Glad you have the opportunity to watch cardinals in action.

  3. Love Dirt Man’s photo and, as always, love your words. Freshly dried clothes, but most especially those hung outside to dry, newly mown lawn – my favorite scents. And baby powder.

  4. Oh I love that. The Corridors of Life. Made me smile. I love “Shadows can not exist without a source of light, and neither can we.”

    Your “Bird Gap” made me laugh.

      • Ha, ha. I am smiling most of the time. I am way too blessed NOT to smile. There are moments though, of course.

        Yes, the birds are funny. Our blue jays do things that always make me curious.

  5. That photo is great!

    You have added the perfect passage to go with the photo. I like this sentence especially: “We are not promised the passageway to be clear, but we can be assured we will be lifted if we stumble.”

  6. Such a pretty picture! I love the idea that the door in front of us is the one we’re supposed to walk through, but isn’t it possibly an illusion, and the one we’re really supposed to walk through lies elsewhere?

    • It could very well be an illusion….or the choice might be turning around and going right back where you came from or taking that big step and walking through…we never know unless we do it.

  7. Gorgeous photo and beautiful writing! I’m the one who was wondering about the name of a quilting pattern. Thank you for the link. I think the pattern is called Arkansas Snowflake. Thank you again. -Theresa

  8. “Shadows can not exist without a source of light, and neither can we.” so true. Dirtman’s photo is really great and fits with your words perfectly.

    Sorry I have been a bad blogger .. the last month of school is so crazy … but, I can see the light at the end ;-)

    • DirtMan took this at Longwood College in Virginia where he went to a scholarships awards banquet. I loved the photo and the words came to me when I saw it.

Leave a Reply

