Be aTree of Life

I never saw a discontented tree.  They grip the ground as though they liked it, and though fast rooted they travel about as far as we do.  They go wandering forth in all directions with every wind, going and coming like ourselves, traveling with us around the sun two million miles a day, and through space heaven knows how fast and far!  ~John Muir

Plant your trunk solid in the ground so you know where you belong.

Let your limbs sway with the wind so you know the feeling of freedom.

Stretch to the shining sun knowing the sky does not limit you.

Take your space but allow room for others to join you…share the joy of life.

When you’re pounded by the rain, soak in the moisture and enjoy the message.

Remember the stories that pass your way in this life…learn your lessons.

Let others climb you when they need a lift, but don’t be afraid to let them go.

While some may cling to you, shake off those that stifle you.

Wrap your arms around love and hold on to what is dear to you.

Graciously spread out and make your presence known.

Take pleasure in life. Dance with the moon and stars.

Let your inhibitions go. Sing with the wind.

Be a friend. Smile at the sun.

Never forget the dangers of fire.

Be grateful for the rain that nourishes your soul.

Reach out far and wide. Extend your invitation to life.

Living in the Gap

April 13, 2012 – Wispy luminous clouds

Wispy clouds scattered about the sky. A line of demarcation separated the descending sun. It was as if a veil was dropping on one side of the sky while the other was lifting in light as the sun pushed its way down through the clouds. Balls of cotton floated in a blue pond at dusk…a sight to behold.

32 thoughts on “Be aTree of Life

  1. What an amazing tree – my goal this year was to plant my feet in solid ground, to grow strong and branch out – nice reminder

  2. Very special….some kids had imaginary friends…I had “real” friends, but I also had trees….I love to imagine myself as a tree….and now I have some image filled words to guide me along. : ) thanks! Terrific photo too! I wonder how that tree happened to develop like that…nature?…nurture?…circumstance?

    • I love trees. I don’t know how that tree came to be. It is located on historic Fort Monroe where there are trees that date back to early 1600s. There were some really huge ones. I thought this was interesting the way the branches grew.

    • Patti, even at my age and physical condition I really wanted to climb it and snuggle up in the crook of its limbs, but I was afraid I’d get in trouble or wouldn’t be able to get down!

  3. What an awesome tree! I’d have loved climbing into its branches and letting it cradle me as a kid! What am I talking about — I’d love doing that now!

  4. How I would have loved to climb a tree with branches like those! I wish I were twenty pounds lighter since I would still be tempted to put on comfy shoes and climb to the top! Love the shots! :)

  5. Trees are such a wonderful metaphor for life in many ways. “Plant your trunk solid in the ground”…absolutely love this phrase. And what an awesome tree!

Leave a Reply

