I Have Become One Of “Those” People!

There are two types of people. Those we who come into a room and say, Well, here I am! and those who come in and say, Ah, there you are. ~Frederick L. Collins

I have come to the point in my life that I’m tired of social games. I don’t care so much about the surface issues. I dig a bit deeper. Who you “are” is important to me.

I have become one of those people that is no longer impressed if you have a lot of letters after your name. Nor am I intimidated by your family name. However, I am impressed if you look me in the eye when you shake my hand or speak my name.

Whether you went to a prestigious university or none at all is of no concern to me. I have great respect for you if you work hard to make a living.

I really don’t care whether you purchase designer clothes or you shop at a thrift store. It does not matter to me what kind of car you drive or where you live. I admire compassionate and generous people, those who are kind to others and give back to their communities.

I am not astonished by your position of power or your lack of influence. I hold in high regard those who have the courage to stand up for what they believe in and live their lives with integrity.

I am one of those people who will not try to be who you want me to be. I will be who I am whether you accept me or not. I expect the same from you. So if I ignore name dropping and celebrity status, it’s not that I don’t like you…it’s simply that I like you regardless of who you know.

Living in the Gap

March 9, 2012 – Cloudy Moon

Shadows had dropped into the indigo sky, speckled with steel and turquoise clouds. Actually I claimed they were turquoise and Dirt Man declared battleship grey. I was a bit amused as he, in my opinion, often seems a bit colorblind. As we traveled on I realized they were both steel and turquoise. The moon illuminated behind a patch of clouds, appearing as a satin sheet in the sky. The moon slipped from beneath the hazy space as the clouds lifted and moved on.

34 thoughts on “I Have Become One Of “Those” People!

    • They can’t help what they were born into. I used to find them interesting but really they’re just doing their jobs. I enjoy people who relate to those on any level regardless of prestige or lack there of. It’s realness that I like…life is too short to waste time on superficial relationships, not to say we won’t come in contact with those people but I just don’t spend excessive time or energy there.

  1. Amen! No time for playing games. Be who you are and don’t worry about trying to impress others. They either like you or they don’t and if they don’t …oh, well….

  2. I’m sure we all know which of “those” people you are. :-) I’m right there with you, sista! I think your Living in the Gap clip is very picturesque today.

  3. AMEN to this whole post, Suzi!

    “I have come to the point in my life that I’m tired of social games. I don’t care so much about the surface issues. I dig a bit deeper. Who you “are” is important to me.

    “However, I am impressed if you look me in the eye when you shake my hand or speak my name.”

    Ditto!

    “I am one of those people who will not try to be who you want me to be. I will be who I am whether you accept me or not. I expect the same from you.”

    THANK. YOU.

    Fab share, my friend. Thoroughly enjoyed! Have a super weekend!

    X

    P.S. beautiful Living in the Gap. I adore the moon!

    • Hey there, Ron!
      You’re like me there has to be some substance for relationship…it takes more than personality!
      The moon was extraordinary last night!

  4. Hallelujah, sister! Haven’t you found that you are more and more this way as you get older? I have. I just don’t have patience for people who put on airs. Wait, do people still say that? Put on airs? Well, you know what I mean. I need to go have a cup of coffee.

    • It has definitely come with age! “Putting on airs” is exactly what my mother would call those kind of people! I just like to know the real deal with people.

  5. Great post. thank you. I turned 30 and thought, wow, now, I know. I am smarter than I ever have been. Been through so much and learned. I hit 40 and felt, wow, I know so little, been through so much, learned a lot. Heading toward 46, more years that don’t really register except that when that magical date comes around, I get presents and CAKE, but I feel both, I know enough to know how much I don’t know. I do know that I will not be bullied or intimidated or impressed by the superficial, much as you described. Thank you again for your post. :D

    • You are welcome. High school reunions is a good example of this. By the time we hit the 30th, everyone had settled in to themselves (no longer showing off or trying to impress others) and it was the best time ever and have now resumed relationships with many of them!

  6. A male friend of mine grew gorgeous flowers and sold them at our Saturday market. On Friday nights we’d pick flowers and make bouquets. Dale was colour blind and put the most horrible colours together.

    Every Saturday, I’d go to the market about noon to see if Dale needed a break. I noticed his bouquets always sold first!

    “Do you push those on people?” I asked accusingly.
    “Nope.”
    “Dale! Those arrangements…the colours…” I wanted to be polite.
    “Are perfect for my customers – colour blind husbands.”

    I miss Dale terribly. He died of cancer two years ago and his voice still pops up at times. I heard him as I read your “gap”.

  7. This is just right. I have also climbed the mountain – just to find there is nothing special to expect, but another one. When you are young you have to be young and exploring, make your own mistakes. It´s beautiful to have grown up.

    • The initials mean a lot in the business world, but have little consequence in personal relationships. When I think of my friends of I don’t think of them with as title I simple think of them “as is”. As is, I think you’re great!

Leave a Reply

