2012: A Year of Living in the Gap

Attitude is in direct correlation to gratitude. I might glance at the twinkling of stars in a veil of shadow, feel a trickle of cool rain against my skin, or think momentarily at the vastness of the universe as I walk beneath trees reaching for the sky yet clinging to the earth. I pause for sunsets and rainbows, but what happens to all I encounter in between?

I live my life in the realm of my attention. Though I try to find the extraordinary in ordinary moments, I still feel I often let things in my life go unnoticed or unappreciated. While I claim to be aware of the essence of time, I don’t always act as if I am. Moments slide by and in reflection I wonder where they’ve gone and why I didn’t own it as it was passing. It is in this response to awareness that creates attentiveness.

My senses are drawn to stirrings of my heart/passions of my soul. These are the things that move me. I want to breathe these things. I want others to have the opportunity to breathe in this same beauty. I want to allow this gift of life to soak to the marrow of my bones.

I won’t make any New Years Resolutions as I’ve opted to concentrate on a way of life. For 2012, I’ve chosen the word “attentiveness”. I don’t wish to live the year in reflection but to be a part of it as it happens. I choose this year to take an ordinary moment or object daily and focus on it. I want to record the impact of tiny gestures and fleeting moments.

These words will be but tiny drops filling the vessel that waters my soul which in turn grows the flowers of my life. Why not choose a word rather than a resolution for your year? I invite you to join me on a quest of appreciation, to live in the gap. May we each find serenity and encounter grace along the way.

43 thoughts on “2012: A Year of Living in the Gap

  1. Now that makes sense. Not resolutions or particulars but “a way of life”. Sort of “apply the principles in all our affairs”. By the way that bench seems like a delightful spot to do the crossword puzzle or just read

  2. Great post and great word. I’ve picked words the last few years, but haven’t decided on this years. Something to do with gratefulness……I think.

    Looking forward to a little serenity and grace with you in the coming year.

  3. What a beautifully written post, Suzi!

    You have such a magical way with words.

    “Though I try to find the extraordinary in ordinary moments, I still feel I often let things in my life go unnoticed or unappreciated. While I claim to be aware of the essence of time, I don’t always act as if I am.”

    Me too! I must constantly remind myself to live/experience each moment as they present themselves to me.

    And I totally agree….

    “I won’t make any New Years Resolutions as I’ve opted to concentrate on a way of life. ”

    AMEN!

    And it’s so ironic because in my New Years post for Friday, I shared this same thought…

    “I don’t wish to live the year in reflection but to be a part of it as it happens.”

    I can’t get over how many times I read your posts and say to myself, “Suzi and I think so much alike!”

    Wishing you a New Year of “attentiveness”, my friend!

    Have a great Wednesday!

    X

  4. I love this post! So inspirational, and I have chosen my word….Fearless. I am going to try not to be afraid of trying new things, doing new things, feeling new things. Thank you for this beautiful, motivational post!

    • That’s a great word, Iris! I’ve worked on conquering fear (not yet brave enough to try fearless!) for the past year. It’s a tough one. I hope 2012 is filled with exciting things for you! The thing that helped me most with fear is to let go of the things of which I can’t control…the worry lessened and peace came.

  5. I believe it is in the gaps of life that our life is mortared. Glued together. Like the bricks of a building, they are only as strong as the mortar that holds them in place. It is in the gaps (the spaces between rainbow sightings) that our attention is honed.

    “I want to allow this gift of life to soak to the marrow of my bones” and then we can draw this clarity deep inside.

    May 2012 be your bestest year yet.

  6. Hi Suzicate. Great post. I am learning to observe and appreciate things now that I have the big red Santa boot on.
    My word for now and into the New Year is gracious. I am trying to accept the help offered in a gracious way. :)

  7. Oh boy, SuziCate, this is grand. This really says a lot to me… I was just listening to one of my past Spiritual Teachers who was talking about attention and how “really seeing” so beautifully keeps us in the moment and truly living life. Then I read your post. Wonderful, you beautiful soul.

    • I love serendipity! I’ve read several things and blogs about gratitude journals and the amazing changes in attitude…I’m just looking to appreciate the gift of life more than at face value.

  8. OPEN. I am thinking that Open needs to be my word. For Nia today our focus was New with the intent of being open to positive changes and allowing the positive to come in.

    I think (not sure yet. I haven’t settled on it yet.) Open will be my motto for 2012.

    XOXO “to 2012!”

  9. I love your idea of focusing on a word/attitude for the new year, rather than setting yourself up for disappointment/failure in making resolutions. Too often, we let the ordinary moments in time waft past us, then wonder where time went. I think my word for 2012 needs to be SIMPLICITY — paring away that which is superfluous, that which causes me to be busy without being productive.

  10. Pingback: Out With The OLD . . . In With The NOW « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

