Reaching For Soul

If you cannot be a poet, be the poem. ~David Carradine

From first look this bush appears kind of homely with its scraggly burnt crimson buds. When you step a bit closer, you are taken in by its spicy aroma.

Soon you are absolutely smitten.

The fragrance calls to you.

The blossoms twinkle in the sunlight.

Even the dying buds curl into tiny art formations.

You become enthralled with the season of the bush…early spring you look for the first buds.

You delight in the aroma as the wind shifts in your direction.

You watch the red buds dance until they crumble to the ground.

You mourn the completion of the season.

The season of the soul is much the same as the season of the bush.

Often we don’t give those without stellar looks the chance to charm us.

And how often have we been disappointed to find the beautiful to be self absorbed or mean spirited?

Sometimes we are pleasantly surprised to find those we like the most to be people we have passed by. Maybe we thought they were unapproachable when really they were just shy.

How often have you felt misunderstood? Not valued? Do people give you the same attention as you pay to others?

The next time you meet someone, look a little deeper. You never know what rests deeper than the eye can see.

Take the time to take a second look at those you see every day. There might be something you’ve been overlooking. Listen to the words they speak and the tone in which they say them. Observe their actions.

Spirit deserves more than to be skimmed over. Give people a chance. Get to know them.

Ever received a fabulous gift wrapped in newspaper? What a pleasant surprise it is!

We are just packaging, some fancy while others plain. Our gifts are held inside.

Pull the paper back and experience the life that awaits discovery.

Everyone yearns to be known.

Please don’t miss the season of the soul.

50 thoughts on “Reaching For Soul

  1. Homely? Well then you my dear are the flower’s dream photographer. Because I was seduced at first sight.

    But your message is welcomed nonetheless. More so. Because it was the Beauty that so made me want to read on. Hade that crimson not shouted to me would I have read so earnestly your message below its face?

    How many have I overlooked?

    How many times have I been passed over?

    Point taken.

    • From a distance the bush sometimes looks a bit scraggly until it fills out, but it smells divine. I think it’s pretty but not as pretty as lilac (which also smells wonderful, but I love purple and have childhood attachments). It just seems most people prefer the pretty popular bushes.
      I’ve always called it a strawberry bush but it’s really a Carolina Spice.

  2. David Carradine of ‘Shane! Shane! I love you Shane!’ fame? What a surprise. I agree with Rebecca, the flower looks mysterious and intriguing. A really good message, people should never be judged at face value.

  3. WOW! What a stunning photo, Suzi!

    The color is gorgeous!

    “How often have you felt misunderstood? Not valued? Do people give you the same attention as you pay to others?

    The next time you meet someone, look a little deeper. You never know what rests deeper than the eye can see.

    We are just packaging, some fancy while others plain. Our gifts are held inside.”

    Amen!

    Thank you for this truth filled reminder, my friend!

    Have a terrific Thursday….X

    • For years we simply called it the strawberry bush…in fact we took a small cutting from my husband’s mother who had years earlier taken a cutting from the bush at her childhood home. Anyway, we recently searched and found it to be a Carolina Spice…the scent is sensational! I think it has a unique beauty of its own, but many people like the smell rather than appearance of it.

  4. Many times I’ve realized that first impressions are not the truth. I’ve seen strawberry bushes turn into Carolina Spice bushes simply by looking a little deeper. I wish I could smell that lovely, exotic-looking bloom. Farmergal

  5. The photo makes the flower look gorgeous.

    I am less visual with people. Oh at first glance, that guy who looks like a 6’2″ Robert Redford in 1979 catches my eye. I might even seek a conversation from him. But when there is no “charm” whatsoever, he is severely diminished in my eye. The short, slightly chubby, balding guy does not merit a second glance until you see the sparkle in those green eyes and listen to his funny Australian accent and his wise and witty words. Then he is a very attractive man. I’ve know very few people who I found unattractive. Most people are rather beautiful, but you need to discover their beauty. It’s not always the first thing you see.

    • No, most people hold beauty within. Many who are attractive are not so attractive beneath the surface. And then those are the incredibly gifted ones who are both beautiful inside and out and don’t even realize it.

    • We truly never know what we’re missing until we look. It’s funny we are so busy in high school being who we think everyone wants us to be that we never really know the people around us. I’ve recently reconnected with some school friends, and there was an acquaintance I’d never have thought to have a thing in common with and we’ve found many interests. We also never know what others might be going through. But mostly we tend to judge people by appearances without giving them a chance. I hope I’ve become much better at trying to really know people.

  6. I love this Suzie,…. poems and poets always make you look deeper within your- self for that which can sometimes be buried so deep it cannot live. Love will always rule the way,… it must for we shall all prerish without it…..I truly feel your soul within your writtings,… so thanks again for a most uplifing point of view…..Peace

  7. “We are just packaging, some fancy while others plain. Our gifts are held inside.”

    Clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap!

    I love that!

  8. Although a book with an attractive cover may catch our attention . . . it won’t hold it for long without a compelling story between the covers.

    But that Carolina Spice Bush is GORGEOUS . . . maybe you caught it at the right angle. ;)

    Thanks, Suzi!

  9. gift wrapping in newspaper is something i always do. because for me, its not the package thats important, but the gift inside.. and most importantly, the thought that goes with it.

  10. “you become enthralled with the season of the bush….” that caused me to giggle a bit in the middle of a thought-provoking post.

    It’s so hard for people to look past exteriors..because they make a first impression and assumptions are made right away, before the person speaks a word. Sometimes the exterior and interior align…but most of the time they do not.

    • Thank you. I am honored that you thought me worthy, however, I deleted my awards page over a year ago and no longer post them…only because it just takes so much time away from writing and reading blogs and other things in life that I never seem to find the time to do. Still, I appreciate the sentiment.

  11. This is beautiful, SuziCate.

    I am shy too, but have improved over the years. Still, I’ve had people tell me (after we became friends) that they thought I was “snobby” because I didn’t talk. That hurt a little, even though it wasn’t meant to. Sometimes we do need to look beneath the surface.

    • I’ve had people think that about me, too…and I’ve thought it about other people until I got up the nerve to approach them and find they were only too shy to speak first. We all deserve a chance to be known and must in turn give that same opportunity to others.

  12. We are all Spirit.We are all Love and we need to look at others at our brothers and sisters in the world this way. Not the packaging.

    Thanks for a different perspective on this truth with the bush and flower and aroma .- would love to smell and see it.

  13. I was struck by how unusual this flower was. Love the color. And it’s interesting when you really look at it. The *seasons* of life do carry its fair share of interesting features.

Leave a Reply

