A Few Words From The Dog

It’s Wylie. I thought you might like to hear a few words about vacation from the dog’s perspective. When I saw my “peoples” were packing bags, I parked myself in front of the door. There was no way they were getting out of the house without me. The last time they left me it seemed like they were gone forever. I heard them say they were going to get a little rest and relaxation and I wondered why they had to go away to do it. I mean I sprawl out on the floor anytime, anywhere…my people just don’t know how it’s done.

We started out attending something called a “celebration of life”. Let me tell you. My peoples know how to celebrate. I especially liked that lady that insisted the dog (meaning me!) needed some food. It was so good. I can’t believe they’ve been feeding me that gross dog food. My peoples claim they spend a small fortune on my “organic gourmet” food. Well, I think they should start saving their money and just let me eat from the table! I enjoyed people food so much I finally started snatching food off plates that were left sitting around…that was until my mom caught me. Then I had to be a bit more sly. And they think I accidentally turned over a few beers…I discovered I really like the taste of it, even if it has a bit of dirt mixed in!

My people took off their watches so they could enjoy themselves. Who needs a watch in the first place? I live by my tummy! However, my people failed to realize that I was on vacation, too. I had to remind them. I stopped eating and then they started mixing their food in with mine so I’d eat…ha, I’m just a bit too smart for them sometimes! And when they thought I wasn’t drinking enough, they gave me Gatorade. I especially like the strawberry kiwi flavor.

I met some great new canine friends, too. First there was Chorizo. He kind of stole my limelight because he was so cute and a baby to boot. Then there was Tinky who was tiny and managed to hike Crabtree Falls with us, so she stole some of my stardom as well. But then I met Duffy. Now, he was a great friend. And more my size. We rolled and ran together. We became instant swimming buddies and played fetch in the water. His folks were thankful that I eased him into his first water experience, and my folks were pleased to find I’ve become a water dog! I mean how cool is it that you can walk and drink at the same time? I thought my people would finally catch on too , but they are really slow sometimes. I was a bit humiliated that my folks laughed at my “doggie paddle” swimming style. Really, what did they expect, after all I am a dog?

We climbed a lot of mountains. I’m not sure why they call it hiking. I call it running wild and free. I loved the smell of the grass in the meadow, so I rolled and rolled in it. I was hoping to rub some of it in my fur so I could carry the scent home with me. I tell you my peoples are really something. The woman whines all the time. She complains about bruises, cuts, and sore feet. She has no idea what real pain is. My paws have had it, but I never once complained. I led the way the entire time. In fact, if I hadn’t led the way who knows where the man and his handheld GPS unit would have led us. I don’t know why he brought that thing along when he had me. I mean he got us lost anyway, but I had his back and saved the day. Then he tried to blame me. I had run ahead and was on top of the water falls, and the man claimed we had to find another trail higher up because there was no way I’d be able to get back down and he couldn’t carry me…wimp!

All of that hiking, swimming, and river running blistered my paws. Do you hear me complaining? No, I’m typing you a note instead. I actually put that energizer bunny to shame. The folks got a bit worried about me when they saw my paws were red and irritated and I wouldn’t eat. They came home a day early just to take me to the vet. Man, have I got them wrapped. I love that place! The vet always says what a pretty, well behaved, and smart dog I am. I get accolades from everyone there. All the other dogs are barking their heads off, and I quietly sit and wait for good attention. The doc gave me some meds. The folks didn’t think I’d take them, so they wrapped them in cheese. Not only am I happy to eat my own “organic gourmet” food, but I’m still getting people food, too. Yes, I am a sly one. I hope they never catch on.

My paws are getting a bit tired, so I need to go. Besides, my meds are kicking in and it’s time for another nap…after all I woke up long enough to kick out this note. Sometimes, it seems like a dog’s day is never done, especially after getting home from vacation and there is so much sleeping to catch up on.

49 thoughts on “A Few Words From The Dog

  1. Your blog has really gone to the dogs, SuziCate! No one can tell a story like Wylie, though. :) Sounds like you had a great time, and I’m glad to see it didn’t take her too long to enjoy the river. She’ll be wanting to go back all the time!

  2. Wylie and Harry could be brothers. I mean, they don’t look alike, but they are both very handsome and have good attitudes. Harry doesn’t see the real point of vacations, but he’ll go. The only problem is, he won’t poo when he’s anyplace but home. I mean, I don’t like public restrooms either, but a perfectly nice hotel? Come on! I hope Wylie’s paws get better soon. Ouch! That stuff hurts!

    • Attitude is everything…people can learn a lot from dogs! Wylie has no problem going in the mountains, but not if she’s on a leash. And she never goes on the trail, always goes into the woods.

  3. First….WELCOME BACK, SUZI!!!!

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaay! You’ve been greatly missed, my friend!

    Second…..faaaaaaaabulous post! So clever!

    “My peoples claim they spend a small fortune on my “organic gourmet” food. Well, I think they should start saving their money and just let me eat from the table! ”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAH! You GO, Willie! And I love that last photo of you. Hope your paws gett better soon!

    Sounds and looks like you had a wonderful time, Suzi! Can’t wait to hear more.

    Have a super day…..X

  4. Sounds like a good break — for ALL of you! Isn’t it amazing how we spend so much money on fancy dog food, when all they really want to eat anyway is people food?!

  5. I’m a sucker for a good doggy tale (tail?). Wylie, hope your paws heal up and you keep getting people food.

    Wish you could come play with my Salem. You two would have a ball in the pool. :-)

    So glad you got to go on vacay!

  6. oh the wonder of a dog’s life! We think we, the two-legged ones are so smart but boy, they have got us beat up one side and down the other.
    charming post.

  7. A dog’s tale. Very clever, and more informative that human’s one. Glad you had a great vacation. Marie.

  8. WYLIE!!!!!!! Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day of being a dog to share how YOUR vacation was. Awesome. I am glad you had a good time. I am so happy that your peoples took you with them because I know they are much safer with you around.

    Might wanna ease up on your mom and dad a bit, after all they’re only human. And they took some great photos of you!

  9. Wylie – Your typing skills are fantastic (as are your observation skills.) I hope the paws are doing better and you were able to catch up on any missed naps on account of typing this post :)

  10. Thank you, Wylie, for presenting the vacation from your viewpoint. We two-legged folk need to be reminded about what’s really important sometimes.

  11. What a cute post! I love it!! I don’t even know your dog and I want to give him a great big hug… I bet he is awesome to have around! Sorry I haven’t been around much lately… it’s been so busy around here but it’s good to be back on your site!

Leave a Reply

