Historic Smithfield

I fell in love with this house at first sight. A few months ago I posted a crooked picture I took while hanging out of a moving truck. I promised then that I’d go back sometime and take some better pictures. While I did snap a few of these, most were taken by Dirt Man. I learned that this is the P.D. Gwaltney, Jr. House established in 1901. Pembroke Decauter Gwaltney, Jr. was of the meatpacking industry. I believe the home still remains in the Gwaltney family. It is an elaborate version of the Victorian Queen Anne style. It is also on the historic register of Virgina. This link will provide you with all the architectural details and terms that I don’t know.

According to the register, “copper finials project from the tops of the conical shaped turret” and, “a decorative tile roof with a scalloped ridge crowns the house”. Need I quote any more than that to make you fall in love with it?!

Apparently, there is a walking tour of the historic homes of Smithfield, Virginia. I guess that means I will have to take a visit to see them all. Here are a few others. The sidewalk was closed for repairs and the street narrow (not to mention the low hanging electrical/telephone wires) which made taking good photographs difficult. Yes, I even stepped into the street unknowingly as a car whizzed by. See, I almost got myself run over just to deliver these photos for you! I hope you enjoy this tour as much as I did!

51 thoughts on “Historic Smithfield

  1. Alameda has a wealth of historic Victorian homes too. I love the very elaborate Queen Anne’s most of all. We live in a modest Victorian “stick” home, sometimes called an “Eastlake” Victorian. They take a lot of TLC and I’m so glad they are being treasured for the living history they are.

  2. I l;ive in condo by the sea world in Miami. Rows of sun-bleached dominoes waiting to be toppled by the next category 4 or 5 hurricane. These houses in your pictures have character and soul and enchantment. On the negative side they all have ghosts as well.

  3. I can certainly see why you fell in love with these marvelous mansions. The architecture is divine. I love looking at these types of homes. They are so stately and regal. Homes just aren’t made like this anymore.

  4. I love the last white one — what a wonderful place for kids to play hide-and-seek, as well as for writers to hole up in some nook and be creative! One nice thing about living in an “old” state like Virginia is the beautiful architecture; my area is more filled with ranch-style homes (which don’t have near the appeal!). Thanks for sharing them!

  5. Loved these.

    Like me, you try to keep the wires out of the photos: The sidewalk was closed for repairs and the street narrow (not to mention the low hanging electrical/telephone wires) which made taking good photographs difficult.

    So, here’s my question: why do so many painters actually paint telephone wires in to watercolors and oils when they could be easily omitted?

    Wierd, right?

  6. OMG……..I’m shvitzing over these photos, Suzi!

    They’re HEAVENLY! And yes, I think I do remember you posting one a few months ago.

    I adore a Victorian style home. There is something so royal and regal, yet at the same time very cozy, warm and inviting.

    I think if I had to chose my favorite of these homes, it would be the first one. I absolutely LOVE the decorative tile roof with a scalloped ridge crowns. And also the rounded windows. They’re faaaaaabulous!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend! Thoroughly enjoyed!

    X

  7. You were right, that house is gorgeous. I would love to live there! The architecture and the detail are so beautiful, and so different from what we have out west. Thanks for risking your life to take these pictures. I’m glad you shared :)

  8. Beautiful houses! I fell in love with a house recently, but it’s a dilapidated run-down one that’s been abandoned for forever. I took pictures and Luke is doing a drawing of it for me.

    I would love to live in one of those old houses!

    ♥Spot

  9. Love it. I rarely talk about my “real” job, but part of it entails working with communities to help them preserve their historic, traditional characters. It may be surprising to a lot of people to know how communities struggle with how to do this, when so much of the responsibility can rest with the individual private property owners. Bravo to the owners of these homes!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

