Historical Jamestown

Jamestown, Virginia was founded in 1607. It was America’s  first English colony. The three ships carrying the settlers were the Susan Constant, Godspeed, and Discovery.

This monument stands as you walk into the historic area. It was erected in 1907 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the landing of the first permanent english settlers at Jamestown.

Jamestown Church was built in 1906. (There were about five churches built before this one. I think two were wooden and the other’s brick. They burned or were damaged by fire and rebuilt around existing structures.)  The interior of the church contains the brick and cobblestone foundation of the 1639 church.

This is the inside of the church.

After the fourth church was finished, the tower was added. This was after 1647.  The tower portion remained unharmed after the fourth church was burned during Bacon’s Rebellion. The tower is the only seventeenth century building standing at Jamestown, and the oldest English-built structure in the United States.

We know her as Pocahontas, but she was actually named Mantoaka. She was the daughter of Powhatan, chief of the Algonquian Indians. Prior to her marriage to John Rolfe, she was baptized in the Christian faith and christened Rebecca.

While John Smith was leader of the colony, he established a “no work, no food” policy. He was injured burning gunpowder in the Fall of 1609. He then returned permanently to England.

I thought the well was really cool looking. There was another one which appeared much older, but I didn’t take a picture of that one. It was sealed at the top. I liked the look of these one as it was sealed a little farther down.

This is what is written on the plaque on the cross: To the glory of God and in grateful memory of those early settlers, the founders of this nation who died at Jamestown during the first periloous years of the colony.  Their bodies lie along the ridge beyond this cross in the earliest known burial ground of the English in America. “These are they which came out of great tribulation.” -The Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities

There is a memorial stone that says this Live Oak was dedicated on June 15, 1965. It commemorates the 750th anniversary of the sealing of the Magna Carta on June 15, 1215. “Out of these roots have sprung great liberties of man, great principles of law.” – The Magna Carta Commision of Virginia

See the eagle on this monument? You know that the eagle stands for freedom. I found it particulary fitting that while we were touring Jametown, and Eagle circled and soared above the historic settlement.

39 thoughts on “Historical Jamestown

  1. Thanks for sharing. Whenever I see post by Americans of their national parks and monuments, I am struck by how clean everything is and by the marked absence of litter.

    • On the whole, all of the park and monuments I’ve visited are clean, including the bathrooms (for as much as they can keep those up with people in and out). Maybe it helps here with litter laws and fines, and the encouragement to recycle, not sure. Of course, I’ve never been to another country to compare.

    • You are welcome. I was afraid to get too lengthy and bore people, but I did want to add a few bits and pieces…I was trying to take into consideration that not everyone loves history like I do. I am glad you enjoyed it!

    • Viola, I had been a few times before, but it had been many years. We didn’t go to the glass houses or the mansion ruins this vist, but we will return. We bought an annual pass for state parks and for national this year, so we will try to get around!

    • You are welcome. I had remembered it but not the specific…I think I studied it WAY back in elem. school, don’t know how much of that info I’ve retained, heck I can hardly remember what I had for dinner last night!

  2. We found that all so interesting over here!

    Thank you. Our entire family loves history, and your clear pictures and your captions were like being there.

    The tree is tremendous…oh, the span of it. And why do we know Pocahontas by another name, my children ask.

    My other son wants to know how by gunbowder, was John Smith injured? As in, to himself, or friendly fire?

    VERY INTERESTING and so nicely done.

    Thank you

    • Pocahontas was an Indian word for frisky or michievous…guess she got a reputation as a kid that stuck! The injury was from burning (an explosion) gunpowder not by gun fire. Glad your family enjoyed. Thanks for commenting.

  3. What a FAAAAABULOUS history lesson, Suzie!

    I was always so bad in history in school, however if they taught it like this, I would have found it so much more interesting!

    Love the photos of the church – it’s so charming! I have a such fascination with visiting various churches.

    Great post, dear lady! Thanks for sharing!

    X

    • I think we all went on a school fieldtrip as kids, and of course we took our own children. It seems I enjoy it more each time. The next time, I want to go and spend some time at the glass houses.

    • They are right next to each other. Jamestown isn’t as commericialized. Williamsburg is much biggers and lots of Colonial costumed people. It’s been years since I’ve gone there, but plan to go back soon. Will post if I do!

  4. Very interesting history lesson, the pictures are great and the information grabs your attention.

    I did like the picture of the cross and what it represents.

  5. Suzicate – This is a good photo of the Pocahontas statue at Jamestown. Would you mind if I used it (with proper credit) in a book I am publishing about Pocahontas and her relationships with the British? I can provide more detail, if you wish. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

