Looks Like I’m Playing Another Game (Do I Ever Work?)

I was tagged by Gropious to tell you ten things about me that you don’t already know. I’m having a hard time coming up with these without stealing from my 101 Random Things About Me that I’ve written and not yet posted. It’s sitting in my drafts waiting for a day when I got nothing!

1. I am totally having a hard time with subscribing to blogs. If you see I’ve been to your site like a million times. I am not a stalker…I repeat I am not a stalker. I just want to see if you’ve posted, cuz I love reading what you write! I just can’t wait to get my email notification because it comes a freakin’ day late, and I don’t want to be behind on the times. Don’t get me started on the RSS feeds. And I keep coming back to some of you to link you on my blog post if I’m tagging you or putting you on my blog roll. In case, you don’t remember, I’m a bit inept at this, and Dirt Man is not always available to help me out!

2. I never, ever wear a watch anymore. I used to. I have tiny wrists, and I always have to have links taken out. I also have to find thin ones that don’t look too bulky. I had a bangle bracelet watch I loved, and it broke. That was four years ago, and I’m just to lazy to go on a search for the perfect watch.

3. I love researching genealogy. I have traced both sides of my family and my husband’s lines. When I start hanging out in cemeteries, I’ll know it’s time to quit.

4. I hate driving on the interstate. I take that back. I’m fine after I get on and unfortunately can go as fast as the rest of the fools. It’s the on and off ramps I hate. I am not an aggressive driver. I am one of those white knucklers you guys hate. Sorry!

5. I used to be able to shoot a tin can dead center. My Daddy made sure all four of his girls could shoot as well as his two boys. I haven’t target practiced in years. The last time, I was not very good and the gun kicked me. And even though I know that it’s people that kill not the guns themselves, since the hold up I’ve been nervous around them.

6. Peppermint is my favorite flavor. I bought a big container of those soft ones at B.J.’s., and made the mistake of letting the dog have one. Now, it doesn’t matter where I am when I try to open that little piece of plastic wrapper, that super hearing freak dog of mine knows I have one and will jump on top of me and try to steal it out of my mouth. So, I guess I can say it’s her favorite flavor, too.

7. I am known around my neck of the woods as the Biscotti Queen. I am always getting requests. Now, they’re going to have to learn how to make it themselves…I’m not making it while I’m eating healthier.

8. My great-grandfather had his arm amputated in a farm tractor accident, and then became an Avon salesman. I am not making this crap up!

9. Remember that song The Streak? It was popular when I was in Elementary school. Anyway, these three girls decided (and wanted me to join) they were going to streak on the road behind our school. We snuck out of the class window, and I chickened out. When I wouldn’t streak, they ganged up on me and pulled my little halter top off of me. The cafeteria ladies saw us and we got sent to the principals office for being off the property. We told him we were making a rock collection for our teacher so no one got in trouble. Then we had to really go collect rocks!

10. I have read the novel “A Separate Peace” at least six times. What can I say? It’s my favorite novel right before “To Kill A Mockingbird”.

Looks like Gropious tagged some of the same bloggers I would have tagged, but here are two more. If I ddn’t tag you and you want to play along, come on and join the game! I look forward to hearing what Heather and Paul come up with on their list of ten things we don’t know about them. Also looking forward reading those lists from the other blogs Gropoius tagged.

18 thoughts on “Looks Like I’m Playing Another Game (Do I Ever Work?)

  1. I remember the song “the Streak;” loved it. I too, have those tiny wrists. Weird.
    I love that story about your dog and peppermint!
    And I can relate to the computer skills part; I can’t do any of this crap without help!

  2. I completely understand about the blog subscriptions coming late. When I comment the day after I feel as if I showed up to a party a day late.

    Our dog loves American cheese – the individually wrapped kind. Whenever she hears crinkly cellophane opened, she’s in the kitchen, sitting and wagging her tail.

  3. Our dog will eat anything – I’m afraid what would happen if I gave him peppermint.

    I have tiny wrists, too, so I use my cell phone to tell the time!

  4. Why you little scamp! I never heard that streak story before… hilarious, but sad that they ganged up on you. You should have told me and I would have gone and kicked their behinds! Nobody messes with my baby sister! :-)

    One of my cats loves canteloupe. She will fight you for canteloupe. Weird.

  5. Thanks for visiting my site. Now that I’ve visited yours, I think I’ll make a reservation for a return! Glad to know there are other fans of Justin Wilson out there! Best to you…EFH

  6. Thanks for sharing 10 things about you and 2 new bloggers for me to visit! And don’t apologize about not subscribing to blogs – I STILL am not quite sure how to do it and/or why it’s helpful. I’d rather just bookmark the people I like to visit (like you!)

  7. Totally with you on No. 4 – when my daughter was learning to drive, we drove on the highway and she was like “I never knew there were so many fricken trucks on the road!”

    And I don’t even KNOW how to follow anyones blog (or RSS feed), so maybe I am a stalker too??!

  8. THIS was entertaining, just as Sherlock Gropius expected. Oh it’s delightfully informative about stuff that is particularly fun to read. Loved reading about Great-GrandAvon. I remember reading A Separate Peace but couldn’t tell you what it was about… To Kill A Mockingbird, ahhh, still love it.

  9. you have an interesting chronicle of tasty tidbits! Looking forward to the remaining 91… and I LOVE A Separate Peace. Such a lovely, pained, beautiful story.

  10. Too funny about the dog and the candy!

    Thanks for tagging me, I will try to get to that list ASAP. It might take me a few days. I’m not exactly thinking clearly right now.

  11. Your list was a fun one. I’m terrible about doing these lists. I’m adding another book to my list — I’ve never read A Separate Peace. I do love getting recommendations from people whose own writing I so enjoy!

  12. amen sistah… I keep getting awards to put on the site… I have absolutely NO IDEA how to do that :) so I just say thanks and move on… I’m so not a techie… and I love geneology too.. what sites do you hit? I just think knowing where you came from helps you know yourself… and peppermint… I LOVE peppermint icecream, too bad it only come out for christmas :)

  13. I’m that stalker site hitter too!! I have a terrible time subscribing. If it doesn’t land in my email box, I can’t find it. Those RSS feeds? Phhhs!

    Now yours lands in my email, I am sooo glad. :-)

  14. Iwrote my first blog last night. So once you figure out blog subscription help me. When I worked as a police officer I had to work twice as hard as many with firearms because I was average at best when shooting.

    Andy

  15. Pingback: Tagged by a grocery clerk « Perennial Student

Leave a Reply

